Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
The Sleeping Field
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.04

on 20 July 2014
The Sleeping Field: by Jennie Orbell

‘The Sleeping Field’ is the second of Jennie Orbell’s works I have read, and just like the first ‘Starfish’ it was not a disappointment. The excellent title itself intrigues and invites the reader to turn the first page. From which point they will be drawn into a story that would lull the reader into a state of false security. A place from where they may feel they could confidently predict the path the story would follow. However this confidence is swiftly dashed when the tale takes an unexpected twist and leads the reader down an unexpected, though equally absorbing route.

As with Starfish each character is carefully drawn. They principals are fully three dimensional, with filled with life and personality. Also as with her previous work the author’s superb descriptive powers again are brilliantly employed with consummate skill. Painting a picture with words so vivid you could feel the warmth of that summer sun on your skin, and smell the new cut grass.

It was however a story very different to Ms Orbell’s earlier work. In ‘The Sleeping Field’ the author has woven a captivating and mysterious tale. As the narrative progresses a story of diverse lives caught up in a web of deep secrets and the supernatural begin to emerge. It is a tale where dramatic events in the past lives of the characters are like the pieces of a frustrating jigsaw that come together to display an exquisitely detailed picture. However it is a jigsaw where the last piece is so frustratingly missing.

Frustrating only because as a reader you want to know what was going to happen next to that little band of people sharing the Devonshire idyll where the story was set. I personally felt that Mari’s story is not over and that her tale can, and perhaps should continue. There are many paths for the heroine to explore that would enthral and entertain Ms Orbell’s considerable following. It is my hope therefore that ‘The Sleeping Field’ is reawakened soon and more of its secrets laid bare.

‘The Sleeping Field’ by Jennie Orbell is a highly recommended read, and definitely one to add to your collection. I look forward to the sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2013
Orbell, a talented writer, has pushed her own boundries with this, her fourth book. She weaves a tale of murder and mystery, completely immersing her readers in suspense.

Returning home, a donkey sanctuary nestling into the heart of the countryside, the beautiful Mari has no idea of the threat awaiting her. Her only family, two eccentric aunts, cannot help her.

Set within a gentle village, where life is not quite as it first appears, the characters leap out from the pages; adding their own particular spice to the plot, they lead the reader deeply into a tangled web.

On turning the pages, the dark, spine chilling, unfathomable secret of The Sleeping Field is finally revealed, but only if you dare!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 April 2014
A rather unusual but gripping book and it did have me on the edge of my seat. Marrakech has an unusual gift of sight where she sees dead children, she hasn't told many people about what she views as her curse but she does help the police locate the bodies of dead children. After this role takes it's toll on her and a rather messy break up she decides to move to the country with her aunts. Everything seems idyllic except for the nightmares she has, but who or what is haunting her and why?

I loved the story and characters in this book particularly Road Rage the cat whom I identified with most. This really was a mesmerising read and I recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2014
I have not read very far into this book as yet, but the author has great talent and i am positive i will enjoy it.
I have now finished reading this book.
My full Review of The Sleeping Field.

This book contains a lot of secrets. One has to keep reading and they gradually come one to light, one by one. But that is not all this book is about. It is also about loyalty, about love, in its many forms and how those various forms help the several characters that need love, of one kind or another.
The setting is rural Devonshire where people still help one another. Many hands to the wheel, so to speak. Aunt Vi, whose strength keeps the donkey sanctuary going. Aunt Grace, whose slightly ditsey ways are known by many, but she is loved for who she is.
Josh, the helpful young farmer who cuts fields, mows hay, brings feed and takes a fancy to Mari, the niece of Vi and Grace. Billy, the help lad who has his own secrets. One gets the feeling of peace, tranquility in this corner of the English countryside, belying the slightly menacing blackness, late in the book.
I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to this cottage and its donkeys, like Bonnie and Clyde. Do buy this book, I think it worth the read.
Evelyn Steward
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2014
This was indeed a lovely departure from my usual reading, think what worked so well was that there were so many contrasts in the story. The rural location drew in Billy from a working class town and Mari from the the headlong chaos of busy London throw in a couple of eccentric sisters,some dotty villagers and of course the love interest and the scene is well and truly set.

The story had so many great elements, it seemed like nearly all the characters seemed to have some kind of secret or quirky/dark back story which served to keep the momentum going and held the reader's interest. Jennie Orbell skilfully weaves in a supernatural element and splices all the strands together in a fascinating denouement. All in all a lovely departure for me and a satisfying read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
The main character in The Sleeping Field is a warm, loving, ordinary human being, with an extraordinary gift that she considers to be a curse. Without giving too much away, this gift along with another set of circumstances, makes her decide to move to the country to live with two extended family members. She hopes that the change of scene will heal her soul and help her to regain her strength.
Wrong!
The story unfolds and the suspense is almost palpable.
The Sleeping Field is a wonderful read and hard to put down once started. I hope to see more from the characters in this book and will keep my fingers crossed that there's going to be a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2015
I really enjoyed reading this book. The story was most intriguing and as the characters developed, I was drawn in deeper to the point when I could not put the book down. Set in an idyllic village described so well that if you close your eyes you could almost be there, with believable characters, most of whom are hiding a secret. Twists and turns aplenty, along with humour (a cat called Road Rage - I kid you not!) and an unpredictable plot, make for an excellent read.

This is the first book by Jennie Orbell that I have read, and it has left me wanting to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this! The characters are all so individual and captivating, and there are more secrets and mysteries than you can shake a stick at! On top of all of this, the relationships depicted throughout are dynamic and compelling, and if you're anything like me, you'll be racing through the chapters to find out how it all ends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
This author brings the characters alive with her wonderful way with words. A story with humour that made me chuckle. Heart wrenching that bought years to my eyes. Every emotion a person can feel written into this story with ease. A real cannot put down book with unexpected twists and turns all through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2013
I really enjoyed this book, it was interesting in the fact that there was a love story developing and an underlying subplot. I liked the characters, they were all so unique in their individual ways. I am sure there could be a follow up to this novel, with magical events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here