Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 July 2017
Excellent album... a real blast from the past in places 😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2017
Great cd, if you like the 70s!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2017
Great soundtrack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is the soundtrack from American hussle the movie , if you loved the movie you will love this ! It will bring you back to all the great moments of the movie and all the great tracks from Elton John , ELO and Donna summer and more ! Love it , love American hussle !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2013
I recently saw "American Hustle" in the theatre, and made a mental note to myself to check out the soundtrack, as the music plays prominently in the film.

"American Hustle: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" (15 tracks; 55 min.) is chock-full of excellent songs from the 1970s, some of them very well known (and deemed "classics") and others not so much (and deemed "forgotten nuggets"). First things first: regretably (and for reasons totally unclear to me), the soundtrack does NOT brings the songs in the same order as they are played in the film. Instead, the sequencing seems pretty much entirely random. The soundtrack starts here with Duke Ellington's "Jeep's Blues" (Ellington is a common interest of two of the film's main characters), then we dive straight into Elton John's "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road". One of the most hilarious scenes in "American Hustle" comes late in the film when the character played by Jennifer Lawrence, a 'dumb blond' housewife called Rosalyn, cleans house and sings/dances to Paul McCartney's Live and Let Die, now placed upfront on the soundtrack. Another very memorable scene comes when Bradley Cooper's Richie and Amy Adam's Sydney characters go out on the town and end up dancing at a club to Donna Summers' classic I Feel Love, after which the film shifts to another scene where other characters are singing/dancing along to Tom Jones' Delilah. Sheer delight! America's Horse With No Name, one of the first songs in the film, is buried deep on here. Perhaps the biggest surprise here is the inclusion of ELO's Long Black Road, which is not a 70s song at all (it's from their 2001 Zoom album), but somehow it fits in nicely with the other tunes. Interesting 'bonus' also is the very last track, Irving Montage, a 2 min. orchestral instrumental from composer Danny Elfman who adds incidental music to the film. Long story short: there is a ton of great music here. A bloody shame that for whatever reason the songs are sequenced the way the are. It won't bother you of course, in case you are buying this without having seen the film.

Just a few words on the film: "American Hustle" is another tour de force for director David Russell, after last year's Silver Linings Playbook, and The Fighter the year before that. From the moment the film opens, Russell pulls us in and won't let go until some 2 hours later. At some point in the film it becomes impossible to tell who is manipulating whom, and you'll just let go, smile, and be surprised as the film unfolds. Because of the nature and era of the film, "American Hustle" feels like The Sting-meets-Taxi Driver-meets-The Godfather, just a delight from start to finish, and one of the better films of 2013.

Bottom line: "American Hustle", both the soundtrack and the film, is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
IT WAS OK FOR ME A GOOD STORY BUT EVERY BODY HAS THERE OWN OPINON
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2016
I found everything about this film was fabulous, from the acting, to the storyline and not least for the soundtrack (which I have purchased separately).
It has an inticately played out plot that is consistently good from start to finish and every detail about the film takes you right back to the '70s.
I don't want to single out any actor in particular for their performance because I genuinely think that all the roles were played to a high standard.
The theme of the film (without giving away any of the plot) is 'who's hustling who?' and the tight script and acting is played like an intricate dance were no one misses a step or the beat.
A quite superb film that I would thoroughly recommend to everyone who likes a very good film, great acting and a right-back-to-the-Seventies sound track. Definitely a fully justified 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
Since hearing Long Black Road by ELO on the radio (thank you Chris Evans), I have been looking for it on CD, it is a great ELO track. However, it was only on Japanese versions of the album Zoom, so 'rare as hens teeth' comes to mind. Then I realised how Chris (if he will allow me to call him Chris) had found it, silly me, it is on a film soundtrack album, so I shelled out, and I am really pleased I did. The compilation is filled with good quality recordings of various music styles and lots of well known artists.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2014
This is an excellent collection of 70's (mainly) music. I was disappointed that it does not include all the tracks from the movie.
I actually thought the music was the best thing in the movie. The acting was generally very good but the story line was difficult to follow.
Anyway, some great tracks here and I've rediscovered the sheer brilliance of Duke Ellington.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Long Black Road
£0.99
White Rabbit
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here