Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
Total Strife Forever
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 January 2014
Whilst we haven't even seen 1/12 of what 2014 has to offer when I write this, I would be very surprised if this does not make my top 10 in the year end list. Heck, if it didn't then we would have had one of the best musical years in living memory!

There are all kinds of influences at play here. Structurally the album reminds me of Bowie and Eno's late 70's work with it's mix of ambient and poppier tracks, but I can also hear flavours of Kraftwerk in there. This certainly isn't a 70's album though; it feels very much like an album that could only exist in the last few years.

I don't usually do a track by track, but this warrants it.

'Glitter Recession' is a slow building opener which reaches an exciting, bubbling electronic climax.

'Total Strife Forever I' feels like a Kraftwerk melody played on modern instruments and washed with glittery waves of sound.

'Dripping Down' is the first 'song' on the record and uses complex clattering beats and sampled vocals to create a fantastic sense of momentum.

'Hinterland' is a cold sonic landscape electrified with what can only be described as an assault of acid house style percussion. This is a moment of ruthless energy.

'Heaven, How Long' begins with a warm, exuberant wall of synths which slowly builds under Doyle's emotive vocals until it explodes in an exhilarating climax. It is a rare thing that a song can

'Total Strife Forever II' sounds like it came straight off Eno's 'Another Green World', in the best way possible. It is a short, simple synth melody which somehow conjures a wave of emotion much greater than the sum of its parts.

'Looking For Someone' is perhaps the most conventional track here and holds some of the record's only singalong moments, but even this morphs and evolves throughout. The vocal introduction is just wonderful.

'Midnight Koto' recalls Bowie's 'Moss Garden'; it is one of the simpler tracks on here which makes it a beautiful rest after the more breathtaking material which comes before it. The track builds a breezy ambient soundscape over which a succession of high pitch notes plays.

'Total Strife Forever III' is perhaps the 'biggest' ambient soundscape here because it is intricately layered. It almost recalls some of the later tracks on 'Autobahn', but with modern electronic flourish.

'Song for a Grandular Piano' is the final vocal track, and Doyle uses his voice as another layer of sound throughout much of it. The track is brooding and has a decidedly gothic feel.

'Total Strife Forever IV' is a fascinating beast; it sounds like Doyle is 'playing' white noise at the start. It uses the same melody from 'Total Strife Forever II' but takes a more layered approach and feels like a fitting end to such an exhilarating album.

At first only the most accessible tracks grabbed me, but I have slowly fallen in love with the whole record.

Overall this is a fascinating record for anybody with an active listening ear; it strays a long way from convention and certainly won't be played at a family party but it is an incredible landscape to explore late into the night. It is definitely a challenging record, but one which rewards patience splendidly. A full spectrum of emotions is present, including some truly breathtaking moments which are rare in any type of music.

I'm very excited to be seeing Doyle play live soon, if he is as good as he is on record then it will be a rare treat.

So, in summary: if you like interesting music, this should definitely be experienced.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2017
V. Good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2014
A disappointment - having got Hostel earlier I was hoping for much more than a repackaged version with a lot of mess added.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2014
Great album and not surprised it was nominated for a mercury music prize. It is difficult to describe as its quite a unique sound with a combination of electronic and guitar sounds and an eeriness in the background. A bright new talent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2014
Saw East India Youth for the first time at the Williams Green Stage Glastonbury 2014. It was an exceptional performance, so much so when i got home i purchased the album download. Total Strife Forever cost less than a fiver? I honestly feel like i've stolen it. . .it's that good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
Disappointed with this. Bought it on the strength of the advert for Endeavor , looking for someone, which is a lovely song. There are two others similar both very good but the rest are instrumentals of a totally different ilk and not to my taste at all. Here's hoping they do more of the " looking for someone" type. The singer has a very good voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 January 2014
Time to issue a great debut album alert. William Doyle aka East India Youth paints with a musical palette drawn from a the widest possible range of sonic colours. His record "Total Strife Forever" (a play on words on the Foals 2010 LP) sees the London-based experimental producer, songwriter and singer, encompassing electronica, techno, shoegaze and dream pop. He does this with such panache that at time this album is breath-taking in both its scope and beauty. In terms of influences for Doyle you could pool any names from Kraftwerk, 808 State to Steve Reich and Phillip Glass.

This is an audacious outing with only four songs including vocals (although they are some of the best) and four variants on the instrumental title track. On first listens it is the German influenced "Heaven How Long" which immediately grabs you. It builds up from bubbling synthesisers to a huge house anthem where Doyle's quiet vocals and repeated line "I cannot give less than my heart" finally burst into a pulverising laptop/keyboard wig out at around 4.20 producing one of the great techno anthems this side of Chicago. Another song "Hinterland" pounds along with such energy it could power the national grid and demands the best musical equipment to pull out all its techno background wizardry. Then there is the hypnotic arpeggiated synths of opener 'Glitter Recession" jammed packed with captivating melody and force. The quieter moments in the album come in the quartet of title tracks which are all ambient walls of sound owing as much to the modern classical composers mentioned above as newer dance forms. They pay repeated listens not least Total Strife III which is a thing of wonder and sounds like Doyle has somehow smuggled in an orchestra. Other mentions in dispatches should go to the atmospheric minimalistic vocal track "Dripping Down" and the pop anthem "Looking for Someone" easily the most straightforward track on the album.

Total Strife Forever is one of those rare beasts a debut album that arrives fully formed and leaving you scratching your head quite how Doyle has pulled this off. The Guardian has described Doyle as a James Blake character "you don't want to grab by the scruff of the neck and pack off to national service". This is a bit harsh but Doyle has avoided some of the overt and often clawing sensitivity of Blake's work and produced a monster record which leads you to utter one word. "Encore".
44 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
I think this album is pretty good but it's not really my thing. I guess it's kind of indie-dance, and quite experimental at times. Worth a go if you like that kind of thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2014
A great album, listen to it and like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2015
Everything fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)