Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
Live From Kcrw
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 5 December 2013
Where to start ?
Stripped down,melancholy,brilliant sound,
superb musicianship,killer lyrics,
mournful violin,
and worth it for the slowed down version of the mercy seat alone.
33 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
This is a glorious album - it catches Nick, Warren Ellis and a slimmed down band recording an intimate concert for a small but highly enthusiastic audience.

It is very much an acoustic affair with lovely renditions of songs plucked from different stages in Nick's career including the beautiful 'And No More Shall We Part',the powerful 'Mercy Seat' and tracks from his latest studio album.

it's a very satisfying listening experience.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
Great sound/great tracks. What more do you want?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
Love the version of The Mercy Seat. Great live album, is a must have for Cave fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
Perfect pressing, makes the live performance so more real
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2013
This is from The Quietus News: On December 2, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds release their Live From KCRW album, out via Bad Seed Ltd, collecting together the tracks they recorded at the Los Angeles radio station in between their two sets at this year's Coachella festival. As well as featuring a handful of songs from Push The Sky Away album, one of our favourite LPs of the year so far, the band, in the pared-down five-piece set-up of Cave, Warren Ellis, Martyn Casey, Jim Sclavunos and Barry Adamson, run through some fine back catalogue material, including 'The Mercy Seat', 'Stranger Than Kindness' and 'Into My Arms'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
So if like me you have most of these songs on other Cave albums why buy it?

I wondered myself when parting with the cash but then I put the CD on and what you get is a stipped down, "organic" version of familiar songs highlighting the power in the lyrics and the musicianship of the players. Beautiful, haunting, sombre, thought provoking, brilliant. If in doubt, buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
This is simply brilliant. I enjoyed the Grinderman albums and Dig Lazarus Dig but have always preferred Nick Cave's more melancholic albums and this is my favourite so far. The best track for me is Far From Me but to be honest there isn't a bad track on the album. The version of The Mercy Seat is excellent and the whole thing works and sounds like a studio album. Well worth buying even if you have the original studio versions of the songs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2015
I am a fan and so was always going to purchase this when the price dropped. Not his best live recording, but if you are a fan and like the album these songs mainly came from then worth a purchase and a listen. Excellent version of Stranger Than kindness which has always been one of my favourite Bad Seeds songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Best of...
£6.19
Live Seeds [Explicit]
£6.99
Skeleton Tree
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here