Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2015
Another god read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I love this series of books. The characters are great fun and some of their antics not only make me smile but actually laugh out loud. The story lines are easy to follow but have some delectable twists which keep you guessing. Brilliant fun! The only down side is having to wait for the next one! More please.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
I have to admit to being a huge fan of this series of quirky, funny, light but thouroughly entertaining mysteries. They are not for everyone and in places can be totally far fetched but I am hooked on the eccentric bumbling old goats and their snooty ways and naive methods.

This series is a must if you want a witty take on the english village cosy genre. They amble along at a pleasant pace full of silly anecdotal nuances in the plot and observations of a world brought to life with Algipan and Alcohol.

Read this series from the start, to love the characters is to grow with them, arthritis and absurdity included. You will know by the end of the first book whether these are dear friends or shelf fillers. To me they are dear friends that continue to get better with age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I LOVE Belchester and all the characters.

I look forward to a couple of hours escapism with Lady Amanda and all her potty friends and relatives, as well as the long-suffering police force - more please!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Very entertaining 4th title in the Belchester Chronicles series. I would recommend this to any age group with a sense of humour but probably over twelves would appreciate it better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I have read all of these Belchester stories and find the characters nearly believeable....however enjoyed the hilarious activities that have been portrayed within all of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Not sure if its just me, but I didn't enjoy this as much as the earlier Belchester Chronicles. A great pity because I had been looking forward to it so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I have enjoyed this series up to this point. I liked the idea of the two aristocratic old biddies and their friends with ludicrous names. I liked the mild humour and ridiculous situations. However, I hated the ending of this book which is why it only has four stars. I hated it so much I haven't bought the next in the series and am undecided whether I will do so. I'm not sure whether or not to start her Falconer series now either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Not to be taken too seriously. Irreverent and full of fun. Only criticism solving of crimes too blunt and sudden
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
The names of the central figures say it all, really. Stereotyped characters and situations, but deliberately so, make for a very funny mystery - until the end, that is, which is really rather surprising even if, in its own way, also true to the stereotyped model. The chilling atmosphere at the end stands in stark contrast to all that has gone before, and created a, for me, uncomfortable hiatus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here