Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 May 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
An oriental Poirot easy reading, and great endings, always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2014
... by using 'ze small, gray zells'.

A new story with Detective Inspector Zhang, Singhapora Polis, a very well-educated, polite gentleman of the old-fashioned kind. And he resolves his crimes - always to do with a closed room - the way that clearly reminds me of Monsieur Poirot - whom he admits to adore ...
Effective, with his female sidekick Sergeant Lee, he strikes when the culprit seemsto be yet on the sure side.
And he makes it with the help of 'ze small grey zells', just as Mons. Poirot used to say.

This time we are very near to the perfect crime.
A murder, a victim and a suspect who seems to have a perfect alibi. Because there was company when the burglarer (?) entered and did the awfull deed! But the evidence points at one person only...
A mystery worth of those little grey cells our good Inspector Zhang is so proud of. And - as always - he finds his way to nail the culprit.

Stephen Leather is THE great Britisch contemporary thriller writer! Before he began to write full-time in 1992, he was for over 10 Years a journalist who wrote for 'The Times, 'The Daily Mail' and the 'South China Morning Post' in Hongkong. He is also valued one of the most acclaimed connaisseurs of the Far East and the author of numerous bestsellers all around the globe.
An today I have finally downloaded Part 5 of The Nightingale Series - for all those readers who like their mysteries supernatural: Lastnight (The Fifth Jack Nightingale Supernatural Thriller)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2014
I love the Inspector Zhang stories set in the antiseptic world of Singapore. The writer has created a character in the fastidious Inspector Zhang who stands alongside Hercule Roirot amongst the greats.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
A nice little self-contained mystery. It's not terribly complicated, but a short story can't really be. It's well-written with a clear set of clues, believable suspects and a logical denoument.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2014
Another good short story from the inspector zheng series- gets you thinking along within the actual story- recommended read for anyone with half hour to pass time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2013
Another great short story,full of puzzlement, that is easy to read and entertains as well, you cant go wrong at the low price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2014
If you do not like long books these stories are just perfect and there are several of them to read if you like this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2014
.As ever, fed up with being told how ,many words to use; its my time not Amazons....three more words.. I counted twenty!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2015
My second inspector zhang short story and once again a very enjoyable read clever storyline zhang and his sergeant lee solve a locked room murder mystery with zhang using his little grey cells and his eyes for little details which normal layman miss.can't wait for his next case.kev dilks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse