Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 January 2015
The best album out there with transgender-focused songs. Any trans female person listening to these tracks will know exactly what Laura Jane Grace is going through and these songs will kick you in the gut with a painful familiarity of your own struggles. And you'll love every second of it. This is a fantastic album for any trans girl struggling through pre/early/middle-stage transition, and even those post-transition will still likely break in two at some of these songs, in the best way. Laura Jane Grace will become your idol after you listen to this, and that's just how it is. For people who AREN'T transgender (or are trans-masculine), these songs can still bring a couple tears to your eyes and/or make you feel like knocking down a few houses.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Singer Tom Gabel came out as transgender and is now known as Laura Jane Grace. ‘Transgender Dysphoria Blues’ is Against Me!’s first album since her transformation, and although some songs explore the topic, not every song is about transgender issues like you may assume. My favourite songs on the album are the title track and “True Trans Soul Rebel” which obviously do cover the topic. I was worried that Laura’s voice would change, but there’s no difference on this album. The album is short, like a lot of the band’s work, but is a consistently strong album, with passionately delivered vocals throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
I stumbled across this album and I'm so glad I did. I love it, punk with heart and great meaning. A girl screaming about something so important to her; the passion in the music hits you from the offset.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Laura Jane Grace has really brought the band to new heights.

The experiences she's gone through are really encouraging and added extra emotion to the songs on this album.

Really love the music and the sound of the Vinyl is perfect.

Laura Jane is fast becoming a real role model for future musicians and fans alike.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
As a forty-something life-long music gourmandiser I'm ALWAYS looking to fall in love with a band. When I discovered Against Me 4 months ago it happened again! Discovering this band has ended a long musical drought for me. Keeping it simple - they have everything - punk energy, rock'n'roll heart, pop-infusion, and a deep, deep soul all brought together by the genius talent of singer Laura Jane Grace. Every album this band has made is 100% Against Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues is the latest amazing piece of art from this band and I hope for many many more. Saw them at Download 2014 and they blew the place up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
The best album of the year so far. No doubts. Laura Jane Grace couldn't have done a better job. Can't wait to see what the future brings for this band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
It's easy to be "right on" and give this album a five star rating more for the story behind it than the music... but the music is really frigging good. Like, there's a ton of melody and groove in this album. And the story behind the music gives it such a wealth of emotional impact, so it's all good. Great songs about important stuff. Boom. A little too slickly produced for my tastes, but meh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Oh wow, this is a great punk/ post-punk album and has some (what feels like) incredibly intimate songs in which Laura Jane Grace opens her heart and it's angry and frustrated but with an occasional wry smile.

I'd not listened to Against Me! Before hearing LJG's interview on Marc Maron's podcast and she came across as interesting and eloquent. I was not disappointed buying this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Laura and the guys are on top form here. Really love the last track "Black me Out" lyrically immediate and angry just like all the best AM! albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Laura Jane Grace must be one of the most brave women in rock to come out as transgender. And this is the perfect album to help you understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)