Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
60
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2015
Chucky's back in Child's Play 2 and the devil doll must find a body to transfer too quickly or the soul of Charles Ray will be stuck in Chucky forever. This sequel plays out in two parts, the bad part and the good part. The first half is a bit tedious mostly because of the ultra poor scripting by Don Mancini that almost brought down the first movie too. The little kid Alex Vincent is back as Andy Barclay this time he is with a new family after the events of the last film. His new 'parents' are so caring that when they enter the house for the first time they (A) don't give him a guided tour and make him feel welcome, (B) Don't tell him that they have another kid that their looking after and (C) Even though they have been told in detail about his trauma with the Good Guys Doll still have one of them in his bedroom. Hell even Andy starts to like the doll after all his traumatic events. Simply put in the first 20 minutes everything comes together and Chucky is back and has found Andy.

Andy's 'parents' are played by Jenny Agutter and Gerrit Graham, both decent enough actors who absolutely sleepwalk through this movie and give zero performance. The only star of the show is Brad Dourif's evil voice for Chucky, his laugh is a hoot and the special effects on the doll are great. What saves this sequel is the final half an hour especially the final duel at the toy factory where the Good Guy Dolls were originally made. It's fast pace and works a treat. Child's Play 2 then whilst being utterly predictable is decent fun but could have been better with a decent script and actors that actually wanted to be in the movie in the first place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
One of the very best Child's Play films. It funny, the effects are great, the acting is wonderful, the dialogue is PERFECT and the deaths are original. If you liked the first one, you'll love this one even more. Delivery was also prompt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
So this snooze fest starts with the reassembly of a charred doll with no eyes and within minutes (and a freak electricity accident) the leg less armless eyeless plastic mush has been transformed back into the mischievous chucky we all loved from the original. However this sequel completely lacks the same promise the original classic had and seems more like a money making ploy to me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2010
Universal must have realized the potential this franchise had and quickly snapped up the rights from MGM after the first movie came out. Writer Don Mancini also must have figured out that his creation of a foul-mouthed killer doll was too good for just one film. The Chucky series would seriously evolve and change over the years but even in this first sequel things are already looking quite different.

Now that the cat is out of the bag and we know that Chucky really is alive and it isn't just Andy's imagination, our killer doll gets much more screen time and his wicked personality has more time to develop. The animatronics have improved and a lot of Chucky's character comes through in his wild facial expressions.

Director John Lafia shoots the film with a bright, playroom color pallet with a higher quality film stock, giving it a more sophisticated sparkle. He's also fully aware of how silly the killer doll concept is and seizes the opportunity for a little bit of that self-aware, sometimes sarcastic humor seen in the later films.

Graeme Revell usually does the most generic horror scores, especially in recent years, but surprisingly he gives Child's Play 2 the best score of the series. With a full orchestra at his disposal, he doesn't hold back on the action cues and even delivers a couple of pretty good themes. So much better than the rotten score to the first film and probably one of the best horror scores of the early 90s.

There isn't much of a story to Child's Play 2 however. It's just the same as the first, with Chucky going after Andy, who is now staying with a foster family, once more. The body count is higher and there are some good kills. I've heard people complain about the 'silly' spanking death of the schoolteacher. Well, this ain't true. Chucky is actually hacking at her. If you look closely you'll see the blood all over the yardstick.

The slick quality and silly nature of CH2 is probably what prompted Universal to stick with the franchise for good and now, two decades later, the franchise is bigger than ever. To think that if MGM held on to the rights, it may never have taken off.

The DVD is in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen with a Dolby 2.0 surround soundtrack that actually sounds pretty damn good. Extra features are minimal! It's high time Universal made a Blu Ray for this and the rest of the series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This one is a sequel to the first film and Andy is seen being placed into the care of a foster family. Chucky has been destroyed or so you would think but he is rebuilt by the people at the Good Guys factory. Chucky soon finds his way into the house to find Andy and use him to get out of the dolls body. Chaos soon reigns as Chucky returns to old habits framing Andy for most of what goes on. By the end of the film we are back where we came in at the beginning of the film but this time watching Chucky trying very hard to get to Andy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
May I start off by saying that this film is a lot of fun, but it's pretty much the same as the first film without the development. In some ways this is good, as we are exposed to the evil doll Chucky and his twisted humour earlier on. On the other hand, the continuation of the Childs Play Franchise just doesn't have the same flare and intensity as the original classic, in which when we hear Chucky first speak we are genuinely shocked and terrified.

This is a very colourful and playful sequel in which the viewer has a lot more fun with the Chucky character, as he seems to be a lot more creative. We go on more of a journey with Chucky in this film, but nevertheless we have seen this all before.... and we know the result. All in all this film is great fun, but approach this film differently to the first one, this is a fun thrill ride in which we simply enjoy seeing more from this classic icon of horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 January 2014
If you never saw the first `Child's Play' film... it's about a serial killer whose soul gets trapped inside a children's doll and then goes on to persecute the poor little boy (Andy Barclay) who buys him. Now, after sending the offending dolly back to hell, he's back again (you don't need to know how - basically the same way Freddy, Jason or Michael Myers always comes back - yet - again). And, guess what, Andy Barclay is top of his `hit list.'

Brad Dourif returns to voice the killer doll, Chucky, and he gets it right on the mark again. However, the story does get a little bit repetitive after a while. It focuses around no one believing Andy that his doll is alive (and evil), only to find they're proved wrong when the doll kills them in a grisly manner (rinse and repeat). Plus you can tell who's going to die a mile off - all the adults are pretty horrible and you won't really shed a tear when any of them get gutted. Then there are the lapses in physics, i.e. when a plastic doll can regularly overpower fully-grown adults.

However, despite all its flaw, Child's Play 2 just about does the job. If you liked the first one, this one does its best to keep the franchise going along the same lines. However, if you're new to the films, I'd start off with the first one (it's easily the best and scariest) before seeing if you want to watch this one, too.

I may even go as far as to claim this is a 3.5 out of 5, but it's probably not a 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2003
This is the best chucky movie, and the best horror film of all time! This is a lot better then the original. It was a good Introduction which was rebuilting the doll. Only Andy and Chucky are back! Now how about that?! And I've never seen the movie till I bought it. It is starring ALEX VINCET. He's almost the main charactor, but you know who the real one is! There were funny parts, EXCPECIALLY the part where Kyle throws the boxes of the the dolls in the factory a chucky, and it the funniest voice he screams: "WHAT THE HELL!??"
And it's REALLY scary too. Watch at night. I don't want to give away the ending. That was funny, lots of gore and languege, don't buy unless your over 15! BUY IT!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2004
Child's Play 2 is good as sequels go and is far better than the thrid installment. The audience knows from the start Chucky is alive so Don Mancini and John Lafia just try to make a evil dead 2 esque movie (even the finale has a reference to ED2). My only quarrel with the film is how did Chucky come back after being shot in the heart it makes no logical sense, though I think it doesn't matter Child's Play 2 is a great tounge and cheek horror for all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2005
I remember watching this film when i was a kid, its scared the utter poop out of me! Wish i could use a stronger word than poop! Maybe its supposed to be a funny horror, but DAMN! i slept with lights on for three years! :p
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)