Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2015
Set entirely on Tatooine, this novel is concerned with Obi-wan Kenobi’s adjustment to life in hiding at the edge of the Jundland Wastes. That isn’t to say that this novel covers the entire twenty or so year period that Obi-wan spends on Tatooine, living like a hermit and meditating. That would, of course, become extremely tedious and dull. Instead the focus is on his arrival on the planet and how he comes to terms with recent events and his new enforced lifestyle. It is concerned with his initial failure to slip into obscurity and how this failure affects those around him. As such the reader bears witness to much of Obi-wan’s internal musings and struggles which brings the character to life in a different way to the films.

The characterisation of Obi-wan is extremely convincing. His inner turmoil at the actions of Anakin and his own guilt and responsibility for them feel utterly in keeping with the character and the films. It also sows the seeds for the slight bitter edge he possesses in ‘A New Hope’. Of course, this is an Obi-wan who is not yet aware of his former Padawan’s survival or of his transmogrification into Darth Vader. It nails Ewan McGregor’s performance perfectly. Much of this novel, particularly in the earlier stages, features the prequel trilogy portrayal of Obi-wan. As the story continues, however, there are slight, subtle nuances of the Alec Guinness version beginning to creep in.

There are several well written for characters but other than Kenobi the one that is most interesting is A’Yark. Seeing things from the perspective of a Tusken/sandperson provides an insight into their culture and behaviour, making them a more rounded species and more than just savages. It also enriches the world of Tatooine, which has played such a prominent role in the Star Wars universe.

In essence this is a western/pilgrims style story transposed into the Star Wars universe. Much of the content is concerned with the developments and issues of a fledgling community full of conspiracy. This all forms the foundation for a well-structured storyline with some good plot twists and developments.

There is also a short story included at the end of the book. Although this is placed at the back it is probably more of a benefit to read this first as it almost serves as a prologue to the actual novel.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Great story for fans of Star Wars and westerns. All the ingredients of a solid page-turning western are there, along with the machinations of Jabba the Hutt, surprisingly rounded Sand People characters, and the struggles to survive and thrive in the frontier environment.

Much more accessible for the average Star Wars fan - unlike Darth Plagueis, I didn't have to have the Star Wars Wikia open next to me to look up a million obscure references to all the different races, planets, references etc - knowing Obi-Wan's character from the films was enough. And the story does enough justice to the character of a post-Anakin Obi-Wan to make it a believable part of the canon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
If you bonded with Obi-Wan's character in the saga just like I did this is a great post Revenge of the Sith story to hold on to. It shows Kenobi's transition from the great Jedi Master to an exile while still giving in to his call of helping people when he can. While protecting Luke Skywalker Kenobi discovers secrets of Tattooine and it's vicious climate and takes us for journey of exploration of the culture and it's history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ah a real treat for fans of the Star War’s Universe as we get to see Ben in his early days. It’s full of action, has cracking prose and when added to top notch dialogue as well as having an author who clearly not only understands Ben but brings more a clearer understanding to a very complex character all round generates a story that was a pure joy to sit back and read.

All round a great book and one that I feel will really add something extra to the Star Wars Universe for fans. Just don’t let this one sail by you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
This is perhaps one of the best Star Wars tie in novels I have read. This tells about Obi Wan's time setting himself up on Tatooine and it does a great job. More of a western feel, Ben Kenobi is given he stranger with no name treatment. I really loved having a story with a minimum of lightsabers and that didnt rely too heavily on nods to the technical gobledeegook that has become commonplace in modern star wars fandom. This felt old skool in that it stands alone. Loved this book. Would be a good movie if they could get Ewan McGregor to agree to star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Star Wars: Kenobi I've not read many Star Wars books but this is a thoughtfully crafted attempt at expanding our view of the Kenobi character before A New Hope scoops him away to his ultimate fate. A little slow to get going but what keeps interest is the well-conceived use of seeing him through the other inhabitants of Tatooine, and only now and again skipping to Kenobi's own meditations. Therefore, the other characters in the book - down-to-earth wild-west style survivors - get a chance to live and breath and become the parallel to Kenobi's own past. It's of course a light read, not least because of the involvement of difficult beings such as the Sand People, but it does get going and we wonder how everything will turn out for everybody. The other (salty) family characters also ground the book in a highly believable reality which is interesting when the more science-fiction elements arise. Rather than direcetly relating the lessons for Kenobi as a lost Jedi on a remote planet, the author lets the events unfold in their own way of teaching, which makes this a very 'Jedi' book. Well-balanced and well handled. There are also some reallystrong dialogue and scenes which give us some great depth and insight beyond what any first person Kenobi account could have conveyed. It could be a book about confronting situations imposed on us but also about the possibility of escaping them...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
My favorite Star Wars book so far, and i have read close to 20 of them. It is the best written Star Wars book that I have read, without giving too much away it's different to most Star Wars novels. It's not as simple as the majority of them (I don't necessarily mean simple in a bad way).

Anyway, the book has some great characters that are very well put together. I found the novel was more of a gentle Caribbean sea brushing up against the coast line rather than a whirlwind of a narrative Star Wars novels usually take where they start off slow getting gradually faster and faster before a crescendo towards the end.

Actually what disappointed me about this book was the very crescendo at the end, the novel was so lovely to read throughout with it's own unique narrative i thought the author betrayed himself by having the crescendo moment that it had.

Either way it was still a marvelous book to read with a perfect amount of characters, everyone of the characters were fascinating in their own way and i would recommend this book to any Star Wars fan.

The Ben Kenobi in the book is much more like the Ewan McGregor portrayal than the Alec Guinness one though, which i personally prefer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015

Wha? What? Sorry, the first half of this book is so boring I keep falling aslee....

Sorry, I did it again!
If you can persevere with the first half of this dull book, which really concerns the edifying intricacies of survival as a moisture farmer on Tatooine, then you will eventually get to the 'interesting' part of the book - the last part of the story.

This is a fairly dull, pointless story. It doesn't add the the body of knowledge about Star Wars, or Obi-Wan. In fact, 90% of the story is not really about Ben, it's about the Tatooine settlers.

If you are really, really, really desperate for a story about Ben Kenobi, or, if you can't sleep at night, then this book would still be a poor choice!
Otherwise, save your money for something more interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
I always loved the character of Obi Wan so this was always going to be a must read for me. It is a very well written novel and shows all the niceness you'd expect with the main character. Obi Wan just wants a quiet life, hide away and keep himself to himself while watching over young Luke but inevitably this won't be the case. This book mainly revolves around the relationships Obi Wan has with the other characters in the story and how these develop, as well as a few problems with Tusken Raiders and so forth. Loved reading this but the twist at the end is top drawer.
Overall a book which shows us how kind and decent Obi Wan is - I'd recommend to any Star wars fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Nice story providing a view of Obi-Wan's transition between episode 3 and 4. The odd situation of a Jedi in hiding, old habits and a huge responsibility that's both vague and overwhelming.

Throw in some Jedi exploits and some interesting themes regarding morals, deceit, love etc. and you have yourself a nice read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here