Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2015
The brilliant Bob Hoskins never failed to deliver a great performance. This disc is one not to miss.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
Perfect and quick arrival. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
This mini series is very nicely done. A few cliques but over all quite good. The acting is at times a little slapstick and the sad parts a little melodrama but over good, a nice piece of TV production of a historical period that actually happened. Well perhaps it didn't happen quiet like this, but don't let the facts get in the way of a good story I say. It was 1985 this was made after all- 25 years ago.

I bought this for my girlfriends father who spent time in an interment camp during the war. He was quite taken with it. It was interesting how the Australians reacted to interning these people. The 'She'll be right mate' attitude and playing at their rolls as soldiers, guards is a stark comparison to those in overseas camps.

What really is not covered is the amazing stories that followed the internment. Many were released before the end of the war and went on to serve in the Australian Army. Many stayed in Australia and contributed much to the development of Australia.

Australia was indeed very lucky to have the Dunera Boys. Thank you, and thank you to the production members of this mini series that brought the Dunera Boys story to life.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
Excellent film based on the experiences of those deported on The Dunera.

It is rather a sanitised account of the Dunera itself, which was absolutely horrific - but even so it brings out the tragedy of the impact of Churchill's 'corral them all' policy as it affected Jewish people who fled the Nazi's only to be interned by the British. The film doesn't show the full extent of the anti-semitism inherent in the Ritish armuy officers at the time - but gives a small taste.

The Australians regard the landing of The Dunera boys as the biggest single influx of talent ever to come to Australia.

Bob Hoskins is brilliant and the film is very moving - highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I first saw this film on tv & enjoyed it so much I wanted to own it on DVD so I could watch it again as & when I so desired.The film is very moving & shows how the Jewish people's lives were upturned not only in Europe but in GB & Australia also.I would recommend it to anyone to watch.
The DVD was well packed & arrived very speedily considering it was despatched from Australia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
Should be compulsory viewing for any high school age person.

Bob Hoskins is brilliant in his role.

The anti-semitism is minimalised as one reviewer noted but the generations need to be aware of what some of our social and political engineering decisions have done in the past.
No doubt future generations will criticise us for some of ours. Hopefully some small progress can be achieved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2016
Affectionate, light-hearted and sanitised treatment of the idiocy that led to Jewish refugees from the Third Reich being interned as enemy aliens during the WWII. But there's some cracking good 'actoring' going on in there. A better way than most of spending 2½ hours of you life. Look up Dunera on Wikipedia for the real story, not so comfortable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
My father was one of the Dunera Boys. He never fully explained what his experiences on the Dunera and at Hay Camp were like but this production reflected what my father did tell me and it helped me appreciate his life. Perhaps a tame version of what took place but very watchable and endearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Being born of a jewish family, every time i watch this DVD i find more to laugh at and it humbles me as well LEAST WE FORGET is how this very funny and serious dvd bring's to me A MUST WATCH DVD with a really famous cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
The Dunera Boys [DVD] is a 2 dvd set
The Dunera Boys is a delightful combination of history, drama,
very moving - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)