Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2013
I first came across the film by chance when browsing BBC i Player and downloaded it to view whilst on a short break away. At that stage I had never [sadly] heard of British Sea Power .I was immediately entranced and moved by the film and its haunting soundtrack .On return I was disappointed that it had disappeared from iPlayer and the DVD of the film and the album had not yet been released . Happily that situation has been remedied and I have both. Even without the film the music is sublime and if you are at a loss to know what to get this Christmas for the ones you love you cannot go far wrong with this album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Never have a film and sound track worked in such perfect harmony.
The film is often beautiful, occasionally bizarre, but always beguiling.
The sound track is the perfect complement. Once heard, the music has a mesmeric, haunting effect.
The double bonus is the DVD and cd in one collection.
They will both be classics in their own sphere. Landmark events in every way.
Stephen Simpson
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
My favourite relaxation music since Boards of Canada's The Campfire Headphase. I'd highly recommend watching the film to which this music forms the soundtrack as well (available on DVD). A beautiful piece of art.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
I was smitten with this when i saw the film on BBC4.

Delighted they have released the soundtrack seperately on CD.

It is just beautiful.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Make sure you buy the version with the film because it is magnificent. In an hour and ten minutes or so this utterly compelling and utterly charming compilation of archive coastal film through and beyond the 20th century defines what it is to have a British soul, to be British. And the British Sea Power reworking of their music fits the images like a glove.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Listen to it on Its own or with the film, it's is quite simply breathtaking. A superb album/soundtrack that will not disappoint. Outstanding.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Something of a masterpiece. Remarkable blend of music and archive film to evoke the lives and experiences of the ordinary British people from the start to near-end of the 20th century. It's grippingly fascinating, delicately haunting, downright heart-swelling, joyous and amusing in some parts, sorrowful and sombre in others, but always riveting and stirring of feelings that capture those of the folk alive and kicking that you see at that moment in the film. The music is self-standing on a separate CD if you want to close your eyes in a quiet room and let your feelings go with the flow. It's an eloquent film, even poetic. One of the best Christmas presents I've had. Brilliant.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
exactly what you would expect from a good online retailer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I'd seen the documentary on TV some while back, and was struck by how beautiful the music was. i was really pleased to discover it was available as a CD, the actual documentary on DVD accompanying it made it even more appealing.
The music is every bit as good as I remembered it being. Lovely flowing rhythms and beat makes it perfect to drive to, or relax.
Don't know a great deal about British Sea Power but this album strikes me as being by a band who have found their feet, and know how to make a consistently great sound; I've listened to it four or five times, and they don't put a foot wrong.
In parts, it's redolent of Camel or Focus but they definitely have their own sound. For me, it's an instant classic.
More power to their elbows..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)