Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
Echoes
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 19 August 2016
Multi award winning Scottish Folk singer/songwriter,Emily Smith presents her fifth studio recording.
It's an album of traditional songs, finely crafted and arranged by the hand of Emily in her own mercurial style.
Sweet vocals intertwined with acoustic instruments of the highest order, it doesn't come much better than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
AMAZING !!!!

Her best album (In my opinion)

The album has brilliant tracks.
If like me, until a few months ago, I had never heard of Emily.... BUY this one !!
(I've ended up buying all of her albums)

She does sound amazing.

(If you want to buy something else as well, give Julie Fowlis a try... she sings in Gaelic, but don't let that put you off...)
Recommend Cara Dillon (from Northern Ireland) as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
Recently saw Emily in concert in Dunfermline and she is very relaxed and a great performer. Jamie was with her and he is a great entertainer too. The songs on this are great. Funnily, Emily has a more Scottish accent on the CDs than she does Live!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2014
A wonderful mix of traditional and new songs on a wide range of themes, each beautifully interpreted and personalised. "The Sowers song" could almost be seen as a sequel to "Winter Song" (on the "Too far away" album). "The Final Trawl" is a must for live performance, continuing a nautical theme, running through songs on several previous albums. "John O'Dreams" runs a close second to "The Sower's Song" as my favourite track on this album. Finally, "My Darling Boy" is a wonderful interpretation but not quite as perfect as Joan Baez' version "The trees they do grow high" (on her Ballad book Vol 1 album) and if Emily knows this album we can only hope for her own recording of "The Silkie" in the future.
Richard Stenton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
I've seen Emily Smith twice live on stage. I know she is a talented singer. On this album she has taken one further step. Surrrounded by some of the best folk musicians in Scotland. A good choice of songs arranged cleverly and superbly performed. A very good buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2015
dandy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
superb traditional singer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2014
I reckon this is Emily's best album yet. Brilliant production with some stunning contributions from the musicians in the studio.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2014
A young Barbara Dixon. Lovely voice, super backing, particularly liked Nathalie Haas on cello. Songs that I've known 60 years. Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2014
Having seen Emily live in concert, so I know what she actually sounds like live, this is probably of all her CDs the nearest to how she actually sounds live. I enjoyed listening to it and will listen to it again. Her music and her voice are superb and this CD reflects that.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Ten Years
£17.38

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)