Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
50
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2014
There's little more to be said other then the heading, huge, uplifting. Damn near perfect.

You're into any of Arcade Fire, The National, Frightened Rabbit, try Augustines, you'll love it & them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
All time fave band. Packed full of great songs. I'm only giving 4 stars because Rise Ye Sunken Ships was just impossible to live up to. Can't wait for their next album. Also, a brilliant band live. I've seen many, many of the biggest bands over the years and these guys are up there - really, no hype. Catch 'em before they get too big and end up a distant specks on stadium stages!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
I must admit I wasn't a fan of Augustines in their previous guise 'We Are Augustines' No matter how I tried their first album just didn't do it for me. A couple of years down the line though and this self-titled sophomore LP was an entirely different proposition. The lead single Nothing to Lose But your Head sounds like Springsteen doing Editors and signals a move into a much more widescreen cinematic sound that echoes the stadium rock of U2 and White Lies. 'Augustines' seamlessly moves between these arms-in-the-air anthemic moments to more tender stripped back numbers (Weary Eyes; The Avenue), taking in some pretty powerful instrumental moves (Highway 1 Interlude) along the way.

An increasingly exciting band to keep an eye on. It you overlooked them the first time, watch out for them on the ascent now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
An absolutely cracking must have album. Augustines deserve far more plaudits than they seem to receive.
I really loved, and still do, their first offering and this is right up there with it. My favourite track is Dont you look back, its got single release all over it, not that that should matter, its a cracker anyway. The whole album is terrific and Billy McCarthy has one of those voices that just gets you right there. It will not get dull, you have my word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Great uplifting album. Each track is very strong and a distinctive voice of the lead make it a memorable listen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
this is amazing, not quite as good as the previous we are augustines self titled album but very good and sure to be a prominent sound on the radio over the summer.

also if you've not heard they try the graffiti album by pela (an earlier incarnation of we are augustines/augustines)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
This band is massively overlooked.
I was a huge fan of the first album, this took a little bit of time to grow on me but now I realise it's immense.
Soulful, powerful, strong and a joy to listen to.
Thank you Augustines!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2016
Brilliant. And a massively under appreciated band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Full of energy, completely unique - proper grown up indie-rock music - if you want a flavour of this album listen to Nothing To Lose But Your Head. If you don't love it straight away, you will after a couple more listens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
I loved the first CD, I bit like an angry Killers. This second album is just joyous and immense. If you have never heard the band then I would suggest buying this...then get the the first one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£7.84

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)