Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
633
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2016
Really this should be 3.5 stars, but you don't get that option. It's certainly entertaining enough and the set-pieces are well done. Has the novelty of Arnie and Sly working together worn off? Perhaps a little, but at least you know you're going to get solid production values and an hour or two not having to think.
Nothing really new is achieved here and after ten minutes you could probably write the rest of the film yourself. Yet that's what it's for and so it would be stupid to watch it expecting anything else.
Of its type it won't necessarily blow you away, but you won't resent the time spent either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Formulaic thriller. All the good guys are good, all the bad guys bad, 'twists' well telegraphed and of course there's always time for a bon mot when killing a baddie. Arnie phoning in his performance I'm afraid, and Sly being, well, Sly. Not memorable, not one I'll watch again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Some good action as one would expect but a slightly contrived story-line - Stallone makes a living breaking into prisons to test security, how easy it is to break out - lured into a super high-security prison he teams up with Schwarzenegger and so on. Both our action heroes are looking a little old these day. Watchable but nothing special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I was worried that this would be like expendables - silly and gory. But this is a proper thriller, tension all the way through and a good reminder of why these guys (stallone and swartzanagger) are super stars. The supporting cast - Sam Neill(jurrasic park) and Jim Caviezel (person of interest) and Vinney Jones (lockstock) are equally brilliant. The shootout at the end is a bit over the top, but the rest has a high level of believability.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I so wanted this to be good,but alas,its just a pretty average prison movie with a slight twist.Stallone plays a guy whos paid to break out of prisons and on his latest assignment gets caught up with fellow inmate Arnie in a twist that will have you guessing for all of 10 minutes.GREAT to see Stallone and Arnie together,thats worth the 3 stars but as far as the movie goes,its Tango and Cash 2.pretty average.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Pure action fun with Arnie and Sylvestor and their typical evil will not win go get attitude. Two, altough not so young anymore, legends of action movies, a very, very bad guy messing up their lives with the assistance of his sidekick, tongue in cheek humor...what more do you want?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
I was pleasantly surprised by this film. Rotten Tomatoes gives it average, and the wooden acting I've seen in the past from Stallone and Schwarzenegger weren't going to work in its favour. But, some periods of dodgy acting notwithstanding, I really enjoyed this. The plot was pretty unique, certainly nothing I've come across before.

The action was, in the main, pretty predictable, but it was a great action thriller. Recommended for your DVD night in, and I caught this on Prime Instant Video.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
The plot is quite lively with 2 or 3 decent twists e.g. the location of the Tomb; the Identity of Mannheim etc, but I prefer "action films" with a little more realism and whilst the escapes aren't so far fetched, "the escape/final battle" is laughable. 20-30 guards armed with automatic weapons can't take out a helicopter with single gun from 100m, whereas the prison head warders can hit a rope ladder with a handgun from 500m. Overall, not taken too seriously it's s decent yarn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Good story line, easy to follow and a decent film to watch.

Plenty of Stallone Schwarzenegger action and for two ageing stars it was good.

Worth watching.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Ray Breslin (Stallone) is an expert at escaping from prison. He accepts a job at a high tech prison which is off the grid, i.e. doesn't officially exist. However, Ray is double crossed and is now in a situation where he must escape to survive. The film includes fellow inmate Arnold Schwarzenegger and Vinnie Jones as a sadistic guard. This is not a simple grunt escape film, but develops levels of complexity with twists.

The film is an action drama with some thrills. By modern action standards it moves slow so it can develop the story. There is a rivalry banter mixed into the dialog between Arnold and Stallone for those who pay attention.

Worth a view for old Arnie and Sly fans. Don't pay too much. Should be a bargain film soon after it goes to DVD.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)