Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2013
I got this as a freebie and from the first page I was hooked. It's a short story which begins when Rosie a foster parent is called to the maternity ward to take care of a newborn baby called Sarah who was born to a drug addict mother. Poor Sarah is going through withdrawal herself and it's up to Rosie to help the baby through this.
What make this all the more shocking is that this is a true story and at times the story brought tears to my eyes. It was very short and I read it in under half an hour but enjoyed every minute of it.
I look foward to reading more by this author.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
The reason for choosing this book is because I love true story's. I nearly passsed this one by as it is about a new born baby, but something made me continue to carry on.

What impressed me most about the story is that the author is strait to the point when telling her story and not going too deep or round the houses then back to the present situation.

Don't want to say much about the story as it is a short one and I don't wish to spoil it for you so go ahead and find out for yourself what a bitter sweet account of a foster mum a newborn baby girl and a young mother drugged to the eyeballs...........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
A brief but most enjoyable episode of a foster carer lovingly giving her previous time to ensure this little scrap of a baby the best start in life possible.
How hard must it be knowing you have poured every ounce of love and nurture into this tiny helpless being having suffered agonising withdrawal pains inflicted by a selfish mother to have to say goodbye .
Handing over this bundle of sweetness to strangers hoping above all odds that the following adoption is the best thing that can happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sam is addicted to crack when she gives birth to baby Sarah.
The authorities are naturally concerned, a foster mum (Rosie) is called to take care of the baby at her home, and Sam is sectioned under the Mental Health Act for violent behaviour.

Rosie knows that she will not be allowed to keep the baby forever, and she tries to maintain simply a professional relationship.
But that’s not easy – especially as Sarah has severe withdrawal symptoms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
Such a sad story, very well written and had me gripped from start to finish
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
I could really feel for the foster carer, and the little baby. Must be a very rewarding but difficult heartbreaking job. A short story but kept my interest from beginning to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Very rarely do you read a book that is both heartwarming and heart breaking. The pain of foster care as well as all the love is beautify written in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
This short story is perfect if you're waiting for someone or in a waiting room, you forget it's not a real story. Sad to know it is.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
Rosie must be a really special person .my heart went out to her and her family. She should be be very proud .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Totally engrossed in the story of children who's lives are saved by these wonderful people and the amazing job they do
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)