Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
60
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2016
I am besotted with this album. It's so good to hear something new and progressive but with its roots in the familiar and traditional. Thank-you The Gloaming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Celtic Mystique, once you play it you can;t stop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Fabulous band, fabulous music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Super c.d
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
Amazing music, a must listen for anyone into folk and traditional Irish music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
I often struggle to fully embrace the idea of 'folk' music. Recently, a friend and I were discussing the idea of a piece of music in that general genre that could really surprise and unexpectedly capture our imaginations...and as if by magic, he presented this extraordinary piece of work. I often struggle to describe the nature of this to people who have never heard it...it seems to beautifully refuse to fit into any particular musical pigeon hole. All I know is that it is pure joy...breathtakingly crafted and refined to an unimaginable level (the piano playing particularly melts me every time). As an English language speaker, I particularly love that the songs are sung in Irish- for me, it offers an otherworldliness.

I'm completely ensnared by this...and it may take quite some time to escape!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
This is a very special album and one it would be hard to imagine getting tired of. The musicianship of all these wonderful artists is quite exceptional; the feel and atmosphere created is almost totally unique; and the experience of listening to it can only be described as highly spiritual. I know this sounds like it should be in Pseuds Corner but believe me, this album cannot fail to touch you. If this hour of musical perfection doesn't move you, nothing will.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
WARNING, The vinyl version of the Gloaming features only 8 tracks in total.The CD has 10 tracks. The two tracks missing from the vinyl release are outstanding pieces of music which contribute so much magic and mystery to the CD release.
Missing are the beautifully atmospheric, The Old Bush and the lengthy trance like Opening Set. Both are very long and obviously too much music to fit on a single LP. What a pity.
None of the track listings on Amazon or elsewhere make this clear. Just so that you know, good people.
33 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Fabulous album (I'm so looking forward to seeing them live!) And if you like this, check out Foxlight
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
I was really looking forward to this on vinyl, but am totally bewildered as to why only 8 tracks are included compared to the 10 on CD. Not only that but the two tracks omitted (The Opening Set and The Old Bush) are two of the best on the whole album - who in their right mind decided these were the best ones to omit?! The 10 track CD clocks in at a fraction under 60 minutes; the vinyl LP at less than 40 minutes. I am no expert but if it was a technical issue why not put it across a double LP (I have just got the re-mastered U2 album The Joshua Tree which does just that)? The music itself is wonderful but you really are better off with the CD due to this short-sighted decision. Also very annoyed that nowhere is it made clear that there are only 8 tracks ( except on a reviews, which I didn't read because I am already a big fan of the music!). So the 1 star is really for the poor information from Amazon and the senseless removal of two outstanding tracks; the music itself is worth 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)