Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 June 2014
This is a very special album and one it would be hard to imagine getting tired of. The musicianship of all these wonderful artists is quite exceptional; the feel and atmosphere created is almost totally unique; and the experience of listening to it can only be described as highly spiritual. I know this sounds like it should be in Pseuds Corner but believe me, this album cannot fail to touch you. If this hour of musical perfection doesn't move you, nothing will.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2014
received this on valentines day.all i can say is this album is superbly crafted by musicians at the top of their field... favourites are "the old bush" and "opening set", although each track in itself is a masterpiece.Can whole heartedly recommend this unique collaboration.Buy it, relax and prepare to be both beguiled and bewitched.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
I love this music, it goes so well with the Ann Cleeve stories on Shetland, sort of wistful and mournful. a feeling of those open spaces on the isles and the sadness when life doesn't go right. I know I will play it over and over
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2014
This is just such an emotional and beautifully played album it took my breath away. Like LAU in Scotland these Irish musicians are creating a new kind of modern, intense and wildly lovely folk music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
I have seen The Gloaming twice and the cd is equally good, it is not pure traditional music but don't be put off by this the music and singing(in Gaelic ) are excellent buy it you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2017
I was really looking forward to this on vinyl, but am totally bewildered as to why only 8 tracks are included compared to the 10 on CD. Not only that but the two tracks omitted (The Opening Set and The Old Bush) are two of the best on the whole album - who in their right mind decided these were the best ones to omit?! The 10 track CD clocks in at a fraction under 60 minutes; the vinyl LP at less than 40 minutes. I am no expert but if it was a technical issue why not put it across a double LP (I have just got the re-mastered U2 album The Joshua Tree which does just that)? The music itself is wonderful but you really are better off with the CD due to this short-sighted decision. Also very annoyed that nowhere is it made clear that there are only 8 tracks ( except on a reviews, which I didn't read because I am already a big fan of the music!). So the 1 star is really for the poor information from Amazon and the senseless removal of two outstanding tracks; the music itself is worth 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2014
A gorgeous CD. Had to buy it after hearing a friend play it. Go ahead & buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
i have listen the cd... it was so beautiful and exciting...recommended for those who want to listen one of the best album of the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2014
Fabulous album (I'm so looking forward to seeing them live!) And if you like this, check out Foxlight
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2014
The most exciting super group to emerge in the traditional music scene since moving hearts, buy this album and see for yourself !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

2
£7.99
Extended Circle
£10.29
Foxlight
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)