Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
53
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2014
This is a very special album and one it would be hard to imagine getting tired of. The musicianship of all these wonderful artists is quite exceptional; the feel and atmosphere created is almost totally unique; and the experience of listening to it can only be described as highly spiritual. I know this sounds like it should be in Pseuds Corner but believe me, this album cannot fail to touch you. If this hour of musical perfection doesn't move you, nothing will.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
For me, The Gloaming stand out as the most exciting thing to happen to traditional Irish music in years.
Stretching the form while being true to the roots.
At times dreamy and others exhilarating.
Highly recommend setting them live if you get a chance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
I love this music, it goes so well with the Ann Cleeve stories on Shetland, sort of wistful and mournful. a feeling of those open spaces on the isles and the sadness when life doesn't go right. I know I will play it over and over
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I picked this up in my local Oxfam for £1.99 - a unused promo copy - and my family and I have been hooked since. There are some songs that just disallow definition - yes there are fidles, pianos, gaelic (I assume) singing and a few bits of jigs..... but this also touches on undefianble beauty. If you liked the theme the to the Nordic thriller - the Bridge - give track three a listen, if you love atmospheric Eno meets James Yorkston delight - try track 2.
It is a fully complete album that even my 12 year son is constantly streaming on spotify as he revises. Give it a listen, I am sure most will fine it opens their perspectives to something new. Also try the new Juana Molina LP - equally outside the mainstream.

Only question I have is when will the vinyl be released?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
If you like this, try and find a reasonably priced copy of 'Road North' by Alasdair Fraser & Paul Machlis Road North favourite track 'Calliope House / The Cowboy Jig Medley' and 'The Old Style' by Blazin' Fiddles The Old Style favourite track 'Three Steps'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
I have seen The Gloaming twice and the cd is equally good, it is not pure traditional music but don't be put off by this the music and singing(in Gaelic ) are excellent buy it you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
An extraordinarily rich and beautiful album. Some songs are in Irish Gaelic and some have no vocals at all, but all are crafted by master musicians. A collection of moving and exhilarating tracks - listen to the album while walking on a hot, dirty, crowded street and be transcended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
This is just such an emotional and beautifully played album it took my breath away. Like LAU in Scotland these Irish musicians are creating a new kind of modern, intense and wildly lovely folk music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
There’s something elemental about this music. It makes you think that deep down there’s a bit of the Irish in you, but it’s not the Ireland of our dreams. There’s an almost subversive tone to these pieces, an underlying melancholy that gets under your skin even as you’re tapping your toes to what initially might sound like a jig or reel. This might be the music that The Pogues would have played the morning after the night before, with tones of regret and thoughtfulness that streams of whiskey wouldn’t necessarily lead you to. This is a late night lament to be enjoyed with a large tumbler of Bushmills as a companion as you stare into the fire and think of those happy highways that you went and cannot come again.
Superb stuff.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Absolutely great. Well-balanced and judged pieces hit you between the eyes as their slow burn pops out. Great production which respects the material. Only the finest musicianship and singing here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)