Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2017
Very good to hear from a father's perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Enjoyed book. Would recommend . Gives good insight into open adoption. Gives good honest opinions. Would definitely recommend to people who like true stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
I have written a full review on the first book, which was that I really enjoyed reading about their experiences. I am also considering adoption, and although I am in a different country with different laws, the feelings and emotions of love, hope, determination, openness, failure and worry is the same for any would be parent. Each journey is unique, but will have a mixture of emotions.
I have so much respect for this family. Not only have they stuck by their word for the birth families, they are now sharing their story and experiences for us, the reader. Us the people that may be considering adoption, or have adopted. Or maybe, I'm sure that there are birth parents reading these books who have either already adopted, or may be considering to adopt.
I have one daughter who was born 10 weeks early, and sadly have lost two other daughters through stillbirth, so I considering adoption. But this book has made me think more about the birth parents who make the choice of adoption for their children. It has totally changed my views. I now understand and appreciate that it isn't a quick easy choice to make, not that I ever thought it would be an easy choice. But to have to think about whether you will be giving your child to a family that you hope will be the right ones for your children, and to go through the natural feelings of emotions around birth must be so difficult. Each story is different, but I now see that it's not as easy as someone getting pregnant and wanting nothing to do with the child, as it seems it is actually rarely like that. This has changed my thoughts on open adoption, and I hope that I would be able to be as sensitive as this family are, and be respectful and thoughtful to the birth family's feelings. After all, they are the ones that face a hard journey, and are the ones that give family's the ultimate gift of a child to love. I have a new found love and respect for any parent who makes that choice.
An amazing book about an amazing family, highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I've have now read both books by Russell elkins , he and his wife are true inspirations and explain about open adoption which I think is fabulous if that's wot u want to do and I think it's a gr8 idea to as the children wil no there real parents as well as there adoptive ones , and this day and age stops the children searchin for there real parents wen they find out they are adopted,
Such a lovely story and I recommend it to everyone , well done russell,Jammie,brianna,darcey and Caleb

Truely inspirational xxxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Your words are so heart felt after getting a guardianship of my niece I understand your love and guilt but every child needs someone to call mum and dad and that does not mean they have to be blood related! They just need to love them with all your hearts! My daughter my be my niece but she deserves and has a right to a family and hopefully at one point she will have 2 that will become one x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
I was hoping to get a better understanding of the emotional experience of adoption and how it went for this family but this is a very 'polished', quite superficial account. Seeing as everything was so simple and everyone was nice and you don't really get a sense of any of the personalities or reality of it, it hardly seemed worth writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I read this book as I wondered what open adoption was like. I found this to be very insightful but Russell and his family to be amazing people who had a difficult time ahead of them yet they faced it with a calm disposition despite the turmoil they faced. It was a great book about an amazing family and I'd strongly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Very interesting and well written book
A truly lovely family with hearts of gold
And the ability to include the birth families with love
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
What a brill read I couldn't put it down I read it in 2 hours I read part 1 in 2 hours as well what brill reads they are
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Loved it couldn't put it down highly recommend worth every hankie n penny a must read so sad in parts happy ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)