Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 October 2017
Works well. No complaints on speed and once it's set up. We use ubuntu and set up was a little tough but it is one of the few that works with ubuntu and it does a great job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2017
Good quality, great price. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
Works great on my mac el captain powerbook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2014
Kept giving my windows 8 the blue screen of death when plugged in my sony vaio pro laptop. Sent it straight back to amazon. Bought a non AC mini usb adapter instead, also from Edimax and that worked fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2017
Stopped working after some time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
Easy set up and instructions. Would buy again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2017
Awesome performance from such a small unit!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Works well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2015
connects fine and does the job.
however.
take a look at the 3 photos of my speed tests.
wired - 160Mbps
built in wireless on laptop (atheros AR9285) - 18.9Mbps
edimax dual band - 17Mbps !!!
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
I bought this to use with a Raspberry Pi running Raspbian and chose it because it ships with Linux driver firmware and source code so in theory it should be easy to build a driver.

Unfortunately there are two problems:

1) The driver still isn't in the mainline linux kernel so you do have to build a kernel module yourself. It isn't difficult and doesn't take long (a couple of commands and a few minutes) but Edimax's driver source is relatively old now so doesn't build with recent kernel versions. You can find a modified version of the source described and linked at wikidevi.com/wiki/Edimax_EW-7811UTC and you can successfully build this on x86 or amd64 with current/recent kernels (i.e. 3.10, 3.11, 3.12 or 3.13).

2) The Edimax driver source Makefile doesn't include suitable options for Raspberry Pi's hard float arm architecture. Also you can't build it on Raspbian (or you can build it but it won't work) because the upstream Raspbian kernel has been built in a cross compiler and so all kernel modules must also be built in the same way. Yes, sometimes Raspbian is "Debian done Badly". So to use this wireless adapter you will have to build it in a cross compile environment without having the necessary access to kernel headers of the exact same version as Raspbian's running kernel and you will also have to write your own Makefile. You will need to get or build a cross compile environment on your PC, obtain kernel source from git (and Raspbian patches), and then cross compile your own Raspbian kernel (because you don't have the correct Module.symvers you can't just build a module) and then compile an out of tree kernel module without ready access to a known working Makefile for your architecture, and then pray it all works. It won't.

In the end I gave up on using this with Raspbian. It is working fine in N mode on a headless Debian stable 32-bit x86 server and gives me slightly better speeds than the ancient machine's 10/100 wired ethernet, though I couldn't successfully get DKMS to automatically build updated modules as desired so physical access and manual intervention will be required on each kernel upgrade.

I am sure this works fine on Windows 7/8 and it is certainly a good option on Linux if you are happy to spend a few minutes making the module and rebuilding occasionally as required. Inevitably the day will come when the driver is in the mainline kernel and you need do nothing more taxing than attach the thing to a USB port and forget about it, but that day is not yet here and Edimax aren't exactly exerting themselves to bring it closer.

If you are thinking of using it on an embedded device just think again and find something else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)