Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2014
First World War navy adventure. An officer is given command of a small flotilla , and charged with patrolling the Channel . With more luck than judgement they sight and sink a U Boat , rescue the the injured captain ,but while they make .and thir say back to port the German officer lets slip a code word and a threat that the British defenders will face an offensive to be lauhed shortly . Took a while to warm up for me but enjoyed reading the battle scenes ,tension nicely built and the action well described. A little disappointed in the end would have liked to read the Top Brass comments when our hero 's prediction was proved right !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I really enjoyed this tale, partly because it was so well constructed and paced, partly because the grammar and construction was so good and finally because one of the main characters - the monitor Marshal Mermont - was such an unusual choice. I had always been dimly aware of this type of ship, which was something of a mongrel (or folly), intended as a platform for massive heavy calibre guns that could bombard shore establishments and quite lacking any turn of speed or manoeuvrability that would make her capable of a naval action at sea. Unsurprisingly, the type was extremely short lived. However, I was intrigued by her inclusion in an eccentric force along with an ancient destroyer, that might somehow be able to meet the looming submarine threat. Alan Evans makes it all believable and we are carried along at a fast clip into a really fine naval thriller.

The structure and plot are eerily similar to books by Douglas Reeman (and none the worse for that): a self-effacing hero under the command of an incompetent senior officer, wearily resigned to his fate; unsuitable ship and weapons; a crew initially fragmented and unwilling, brought quickly to extreme loyalty; a seemingly impossible mission; and a little romance saved by the honourable hero.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
It's the summer of 1917 and Britain's supply routes are under threat from German U-boats. Commander David Smith is appointed to head an anti-submarine flotilla but quickly finds that this consists of two ships, both unsuited to the task whose crews have a reputation for ill-discipline, and that his commanding officer sees Smith's force as little more than an irritant.

When he uncovers evidence of a secret German operation he finds no one will listen and he's forced to take action on his own.

Ship of Force moves at a cracking pace and displays impressive levels of historical detail whether it's in the action at sea or in the depiction of a Gotha raid on London.

It suffers from the common curse of poorly corrected OCR copy but if you can overlook that it's an entertaining read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
I have read a few of these books and i still enjoy them. The descriptions of the battles and n board script was great. The characters on board were great. I loved reading this book and look forward to reading the series of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Great sea adventure which is so well written it has you on the decks hoping everyone will survive the gun fire
Love the character of Captain Smith as always the best are flawed.
On to book number 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
A well written tale of WWI naval action, not badly constructed, albeit a little predictable and relying too much on coincidences. I would have marked it 3.5-4 stars were it not marred by truly atrocious editorial preparation. Presumably this Kindle edition has been made by OCR from hard copy, and not read over for errors, which are numerous and obvious. The publishers should be ashamed of themselves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Set in WW1 this sees a Naval Officer who is almost despised by his senior officer being given a task with what could only be decsribed as 'past there sale date' equipment in the form of two ships then being told to go out and destroy U boats.
The story is full of action and some success. What that is for you to find out.
A thoroughly good action read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Great read meeting David Smith again as,Commander RN. Non stop action highly inventive and realistic builds a real feel for the action with well drawn characters and Smith as a Hornblower like character using his brain against the enemy and prejudiced superiors. Real good sea adventure.

My only critisicm is that the incompetence of senior officers seems a little overplayed and there is never any reward for Smith despite his success. Even those filled with total prejudice would have to recognise his feat of arms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Alan Evans has written a sequel that is even better than Thunder at Dawn. A plot that doesn't, stand still, lots of damp and dark North Sea atmosphere and well researched naval hardware. On top of all this, always a twist in the story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Have been a fan of Alan Evans since I read Thunder at Dawn, which I have had to re-read, it was so good.
Ship of Force is equally entertaining. Another ripping yarn from a master of the naval fiction genre. I wish there were other books in this series although it would be difficult to maintain this standard.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse