Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
55
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2017
GREAT LITTLE FILM VERY SPINE TINGLY DONT READ TOO MANY REVIEWS(JUST READ THE BLORB FOR THE FILM) AS THIS CAN SPOIL IT STILL NOT AS GOOD AS ALIEN ABDUCTION IF YOU HAVENT SEEN IT AN WHY NOT THEN GET BOTH AN TREAT YOURSELF GO ON YOU DESERVE IT. GOT MINE FROM THOSE FINE PEOPLE AT MUSIC MAGPIE GREAT PRICE AN GREAT SEVICE WHAT MORE DO YOU PEOPLE NEED BEFORE YOU BUY THIS DVD ? TO BE ABDUCTED !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
The reason I'm giving this film 5 star is because it's actually based on a real place. The son going missing isn't true, the only part of this that is based on true events is the ranch, the wolf, the ufos and other strange happenings but nobody vanished. If you haven't heard of it I strongly suggest you tubing George knapp skinwalker ranch, he was the only journalist allowed into the place before the government bought it and sealed it of to everyone apart from their own people. The stories that come out of this place are quite frankly unbelievable but they are very much true accounts with footage and pictures to go with George Knapps story. When I first heard of this I chucked my hands in the air screaming "bull poop" but not even half an hour into Knapps account and I started paying a little more attention to what was being said. Like I said, if you didn't know this place was a real place go google and YouTube it and make your opinion up without using the film to decide. All the film takes from the true part is the title and the strange happenings, nobody has gone missing apart from the family dogs. The film is your typical lost and found footage. It has some scary parts where you jump and they managed to squeeze the best parts from the true story into the film (wolf attacking truck didn't happen the wolf came up to the owners then attacked a cow) it's a real shame to see this film knowing people who haven't heard of Skinwalker Ranch will more than likely never give it a fair crack whenever they see the name now. But...if you're not into researching the facts behind a film like this and enjoy a creepy film then this is the one for you :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Admittedly I love ff films which works both ways, I'm biased but also know what works and what does. This film does.
This is actually based solidly on a real story known as the Skinwalker Ranch and the main actor is not only director but has written prolifically on the story.
Basically all good actors and for me kicked off early, and ended too early. There's overt horror and supernatural, yes if you loath ff films its not for you but otherwise its quite a good film Imo anyway. A film I often watch as "comfort horror".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
After a child disappears from an isolated ranch, a group of paranormal investigators show up with cameras, motion detectors, etc. The film seemed to lack direction as we discover:

1) The land has an ancient curse
2)There is an apparition
3) Lights appear from nowhere. Aliens are suspected.
4) There is a 500 pound warg running around at night.
5) Bats commit suicide on the ranch roof
6) And oh Yes, they discover an old government tape.

This is a low budget film put together by a small group of experienced people who did all aspects of the film. The bulk of the film was done well, considering how bad this genre has gone. There is a suicide in one scene where a person shoots themselves in the head. The blood splatter appears behind him slightly ahead of the gun fire. The end suffers from the same question in other films, who is holding the camera while the guy is being chased by "space ghost" or whatever that was. Character dialog could have been better.

Worth a rental for hand held horror fans who for those who would like to see aliens mixed with LOTR animals.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity. 3 1/2 stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Is it a ‘spoiler’ to mention that a film is actually a ‘found footage’ film before you watch it? Personally, I’d say no. I think all ‘found footage’ films should come with a warning, mentioning that a film is ‘found footage.’ That way I can steer well clear. Sadly, for me, there was no warning and I ended up wasting an hour and a half of my time on this.

I’m not a ‘horror snob.’ I actually really enjoyed The Blair Witch Project (and long before that Cannibal Holocaust, not to mention a very select few of more recent ones like REC). The ‘found footage’ genre CAN work. It’s just 9/10 it doesn’t. And it doesn’t here.
If you’ve seen one of the ten million horror B-movies made this way, i.e. filmed from the point of view of one of the characters all the way through with the other characters aware and reacting to the camera, then you’ve basically seen this. It’s just typical of a found footage film. This time it’s about aliens. But that doesn’t matter. It could be about demons, witches or haunted houses – they’re all exactly the same.

The first half of the film, basically nothing happens. It’s to do with ‘character building.’ Supposedly. Although it’s probably less about introducing us to the characters’ traits and more to do with filling the ninety minute runtime without having to pay for special effects or decent sets.

Yes, the film has that credible ‘documentary feel.’ But that doesn’t mean that it’s either (a) scary (b) enjoyable or (c) memorable. All it is is yet another found footage film which you’ll watch, not like and totally forget before wishing you hadn’t wasted an hour and a half of your life on it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I like the idea of mixing up the UFO genre with Found Footage, so I was looking forward to this movie,
Story is fair and the acting is OK, but no one really stands out and the movie quickly goes very lazy and predictable.
I thought there was a great potential to this movie, but it's like they couldn't be bothered.
Watch if you REALLY like found footage and UFO films, but don't expect anything new.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
It's all getting a bit tired now - the shaky camera Blair Witch docu-style but Skinwalkers is up there with the best of them.
Some nice scary creatures and murky dark fields added to a decent storyline bringing in aliens and ghostly goings-on.
If you like this sort of thing then you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Not a film I was familiar with, I was tempted to part with my hard earned money purely by the lenticular cover, which fooled me into thinking that it might just be a really good film.
For the first half hour or so it looked promising and I began to think I had discovered something special, even though I'm not a particular fan of these 'found footage' films. Personally, I think they've kind of been done to death and are the equivalent of the early 80's slasher genre. Shaky camera work is usually very annoying after a while and with this film there was also the added frustration of supposed electrical disturbances affecting the cameras. Once or twice was okay, but then it just became irritating.
As for the actual 'story', I got pretty lost and confused after a while. So, the son was abducted by aliens...right? But why did he keep re-appearing in some kind of loop? What about the giant, (mutant?) wolf thing? Or the mysterious vehicles that approached throughout the film, which then drove off? Who were they? It's all very well basing a film on strange, unexplained 'real life' stories, but to use that as an excuse for being vague is not good enough. To me it all just seemed a little random and not particularly thought out, which is a shame because it often looked good and also had a moments of real creepiness. The acting was reasonable, although I did find the guy who played the father to be a little unconvincing at times, or overly dramatic. Possibly more the fault of the director, although it's possible he was the director, because the director appeared in the film as one of the characters. To be honest, I can't be bothered checking if it was the guy who played the father.

I wouldn't recommend buying this film, unless you're a big fan of 'found footage' movies, although for the life of me, I cannot understand why they seem to be so popular.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This independent movie was made on a shoestring budget and originally called "Skinwalker Ranch". It is based on real events that happened at the actual Skinwalker Ranch in Utah, albeit a little loosely, using a fictional story as an anchor and provide an excuse to bring the reported happenings to the forefront.

Whilst this works, it is clearly straining on the finances. However, the director manages to sidestep the pitfalls that befall most independent film makers trying to deal with traditionally FX heavy material on a budget making this a very watchable piece of work.

The real interest in this movie is the actual events. If you google skinwalker ranch you will be amazed at the reports and eye witness accounts. The ranch itself has the highest incidence of paranormal activity reported anywhere - there are UFO's, ghosts, shape shifters and all manner of paranormal going on there. It is now owned by a millionaire who has turned it into his own private scientific project.

If you like films based on reality and you don't mind a little licence and some shaky camerawork, then this will be fine for you. If you;re looking for a summer blockbuster, don't expect any miracles here. Its a solid OK, 3/5. For the budget its an amazing piece and a credit to its makers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse