Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
Side Tracks [VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£40.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 July 2017
More classic Dylan tracks!, well worth the purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
Good selection of outtakes and other recordings not included in major albums. Lots of favorites. For example "Up to me" or "Series of dreams"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 June 2016
This Japanese double CD puts under one handy roof all of the previously unreleased or in some way rare Dylan tracks that have appeared on things like the superb 'Biograph' Box Set (the daddy of 'em all!), stand alone singles and other compilations. Although a casual browser would probably just need an inexpensive 'Best Of' - of which there are many to choose from - but those who really want to get into the deeper side of Dylan's muse would do well to invest in this well packaged set. The sound quality is superb - 'Percy's Song', one of his earliest recordings - is just Dylan and guitar, and it sounds wonderful, intimate and engaging. There isn't a clunker on this whole set, so my advice is to get it if you're wavering.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
This is a set that was in the CD box The Bob Dylan Collection vol.1 It is the "officially released" songs that didn't appear on "proper" albums. Just to re-itterate these have all been released before on Greatest Hits, More Greatest Hits, Biograph and the 3 CD Dylan"Red Box". This is made clear in the cover sticker and liner notes. All were excellent compilations mixing the best of Bob with hard to find singles and B-sides and, on Biograph, outakes and live tracks not previously released. Others will grumble that one or two tracks from "Masterpieces" aren't here, but I don't think that was an official USA/European release.

Here we have just the hard to find stuff, similar to the Past Masters in the Beatles boxes. So if you're new to Bob, this will save you buying the nine discs of compilations in order to get 2 CDs of material. The vinyl records are flat, heavy and noise free (at least the first time you play them!) They come in a sturdy tri-fold sleeve with fairly basic information about where they appeared before. The back cover says tracks are in mono/stereo but it doesn't say which tracks are which.

But the real point of the set and the real joy is the music. The songs cover about 40 of Bob's 50 years in the business, and as they were (mostly) originally recorded and mastered for official release, the sound is great, unlike some of the bootleg series. You get a really good overview of his styles from the solo troubadour to the latter day bluesman. Songs such as Positively Fourth Street, Watching The River Flow and Dignity do really belong on any Greatest Hits collection. Tomorrow Is A Long Time is probably Dylan's most inimate performance; even Elvis Presley's version is pretty much a straight copy, which is a pretty big complement. The whole album is an absolute joy from start to finish.

This set of songs is essential for both the casual listener to Dylan and the enthusiast. Shame their isn't a general CD release.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2015
it is not a box set. It is a tripple album vinyl gatefold and should be advertised as so. I have bought other box set bob dylan albums as advertised and recieved same. I like this bob dylan vinyl because it is bob dylan but I was expecting it to be a tripple vinyl box set . yours sincerly Ger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2016
Being new to Dylan (even though I'm in my 50s), I didn't realise how many of his official releases could only be found only on B-sides, E.P.s, or various Greatest Hits compilations. This triple album brings pretty much all of those into one place, and could therefore be thought of as being the Dylan equivalent of The Beatles "Mono Masters" and/or "Stereo Masters" collections. However - a warning: if you have already invested in the 2013 'Complete Album Collection Vol. 1' CD box-set (or you're thinking of investing in it) 'Side Tracks' is already included. As a stand-alone item, it's a little expensive though worthwhile - whether on CD or vinyl.

I bought the triple vinyl version which comes in a plain but sturdy-ish tri-fold jacket with brief but useful notes and a slightly intimidating portrait of Bob (remember that LP jackets are 12 x 12 inches in size) in close-up. The vinyl transfer is first-class, the discs being flat, silent and very lovely to listen to. This collection works as a proper album too - all too often compilations come across as merely a jumble of off-cuts, but this is a reasonably seamless listen that works on its' own terms. Like The Beatles, it's astonishing the sheer volume of excellent music that nearly got lost because they were tucked away out of easy reach. 'Side Tracks' is an excellent way of rescuing them from oblivion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2014
This has been a pleasure from beginning to end and in my opinion blows the bootleg releases out of the water- a crime it isn't more easily obtainable/affordable.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2014
when I saw this advertised I thought it would be all of the rare tracks.
the songs that didn't appear on the albums.
many are on biograph, greatest hits volume 2 and the bootleg albums.
it does not include on of my all time favourites rita may.
that is on masterpieces, they have been careful not to include everything.
you still need to buy all of the compilations.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2013
This is the perfect album collection of non album tracks. I have replaced the somewhat shoddy home produced CD of these tracks with this lovely item. The mastering is great and the vinyl flat and quiet. The sleeve is a bit plain and ill considered, but the music wonderful
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)