Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 April 2015
Having watched Wulfhall and having read Hilary Mantels books, where Cromwell is portrayed as an an avuncular misunderstood character , this excellent new addition to the Cousins War series offers an insight into a King who thought he was above the law and Cromwell who facilitated the kings wishes . A King who put aside the Magna Carta and murdered his way through the Plantagenet line , because he was King by divine right and a dangerously paranoid man - if Henry did carry the dangerous Kell negative gene and had McCleods disease - it explains the ultimate death of the Tudor line - even at a time when infant mortality was high , all the still births and miscarriages endured by his wives were unusual even for the time . Was Henry a tyrant because he was cursed , or was he cursed because he was a spoiled brat from birth ? Fascinating stuff .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
I have read many Philippa Gregory books but only learned recently I'd read some in the wrong order.
Thoroughly enjoyed this book from the Cousins War Series.
Found myself wishing there could be a happy ending even though I knew it wouldn't be.
I was transported back to the Tudor Court and enjoyed every minute!
Am very much looking forward to the next book in this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
This is a heartrending account of the real Henry VIII and his tyranny. A masterpiece from the point of view of one of the players. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
This is the story of a powerful woman living in very turbulent times. It is well told and quite shocking. The downfall of a Kindle book is the inability to have a family tree readily available because the Plantagenet line is so convoluted. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
I can't put it down. So much that they didn't tell us in History lessons at school! Perhaps somebody will be writing a ( historical ) novel in the future about Charles, Diana and Camilla. They are still getting away with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Another great story from Philippa Gregory telling us about Margaret, Countess of Salisbury, one of the Plantagenet's that we rarely hear about. Also about how Henry Vlll turned from being a relatively pleasant boy into a paranoid man, constantly thinking that people were plotting against him, much like his father Henry Vll. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Well of course I loved it. Historical fiction at its best. And I have wondered about Margaret Pole for years, only knowing her as a tragic victim of Henry VIII's spite. Previously she was a rather vague character, now she is brought to life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Great book. Phillipa Gregory has created an amazing storytelling world from perspectives not often thought about. Would highly recommend the cousins war and the Tudor series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Beautifully written, though might have carried on a little too long at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Really enjoyed this book , I knew little about Margaret Pole, only that she was niece to EdwardIV and RichardIII and grandaughter of warwick the kingmaker. She turned out to be quite a gutsy lady for her time. I won't say any more, as I don't want to spoil it for future readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse