Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2014
What a wonderful book! I purchased this recently on a whim as I looked for books for my 16 month old, ans the moment I opened the envelope she took it and insisted I read it over and over. She loves making the boom noise for the cannon and pointing out the cat or the parrot. I love the feel of the front cover, it's a hardback but there's foam under the paper so it's kind of squashy.

I would definitely recommend this book for younger toddlers and those learning to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
we love this book. This book will teach your little one all of the wrong things not to do :-). The writing style is abrupt, the choice of words poor, yet the story gels well and comes accross like a brilliant Pirate story told by Pirates.
Because of its writing style, it makes for very good day-time reading, and is not the bedtime story. It is worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Amazing book with great pictures. My children will love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Very good for children interested in pirates
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
'On a Pirate' is a lovely book for young children. Clear bright pictures with a simple informative explanation of life on a pirate ship. The story outlines life on board ship, a storm, and the capture of a treasure ship; but all in a warm, non-scarey way. My three-year-old tear-away grandson loves this series of books and loves the Benji Davies illustrations. Lots of interesting things to look at and discuss. He similarly loves 'On the Moon' and 'In the Castle'. All the books in this series have solid, padded, hard covers and quality thick pages inside. We initially borrowed the books from the Library, but he loved these three titles so much I bought them. Bargain prices from Amazon and free postage to boot. Delivered within two days of the order being placed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Excellent pictures.Imagination and wonder on Grandchild's face
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Currently my (just) two year old's favourite book. It has really captured his imagination. Daddy has to read it every night at the moment...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2008
With its incredibly sturdy covers, this is an equally sturdy introduction to pirates for the very young. "On a pirate ship" has been carefully designed for toddler and pre-school children with just one or two short clear sentences per page. Soft colourful pictures show what it would be like to live on a pirate ship and the illustrations cleverly manage to capture the risky and scary nature of pirates lives yet remain both gentle and exciting enough for my three year old. The reality of piracy is covered, albeit exceptionally briefly, in a very friendly way with a storm at sea, a sword fight on a treasure ship, presented amidst a page of treasure, a celebratory banquet below deck and a stop-off on a tropical island. A gem.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
My little boy of two and a half absolutely loves this book - he is into pirates these days, and this book with its very simple sentences and clear and colourful pictures, is a hit. There isn't a story as such...but it gives a flavour of life on board a pirate ship to very young and imaginative toddlers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
My 4 year old pirate mad son loves this book. It explains in short simple terms what life on a pirate ship was like. He also loves the usbourne lift the flap pirate book. I would recommend both of these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here