Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
16
In The Minds Of Evil
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 18 August 2015
This is the fourth album without the Hoffman brothers on guitars for Deicide and the album has a cleaner more thrash like sound to it. Glen Benton's vocals are as demonic and feral as ever and the song tempos are more mid paced than the blurring speed of the earlier albums but it doesn't detract from the dark atmospherics at all. The leads are melodic and quite beautiful in their haunting meanderings and add to the atmosphere of the album wonderfully. The overall feel of the album is Death Metal and is not for the faint hearted with the production being as good as any mainstream Metal album. There is a rigid structure which is less chaotic then previous efforts which makes for a clearer, cleaner listen. The Drums are magnificently performed and Steve Asheim has every right to beam with pride over his considerable contribution to this amazing album. Glen's bass work and vocals are as amazing as ever and he remains one of the scariest Death Metal vocalists and deft Bass Players of all time. If you love Death Metal then chances are that you absolutely adore Deicide and own at least a few of their albums if not all of them. This album would be an amazing addition to your Death Metal collection and you can buy it with confidence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
In the Minds of Evil is the eleventh studio album by American death metal band Deicide. It was released on 26th November 2013 by Century Media Records, and marks the recording debut of guitarist Kevin Quirion, who joined the band in 2011 after Ralph Santolla left. The album has been described as moving away from the melodic inclinations of the previous few albums and towards an "old school" death metal sound reminiscent of the band's 1992 album Legion.

Drummer Steve Asheim observed that the album was "a departure from our recent stuff and has more of an old school vibe. Not quite as melodic and very catchy riffs". Asheim elaborated further, explaining that the band wanted Glen Benton's vocals "to sound more old-school. So, it's a bit of the new with a little throwback action". Benton concurred, observing that Deicide has "settled into a permanent lineup and the writing process now is like the writing process was back in the beginning and we’re all showing up and writing the songs together. Everybody has an input and it shows". Benton cited the addition of guitarist Kevin Quirion as critical to In the Minds of Evil.

Steve Asheim noted that producer Jason Suecof "wanted to capture the Legion feel" on In the Minds of Evil. During the tracking of the album, Asheim revealed that he was performing with a "a blown out shoulder. It hurt like hell. It kept dislocating, it was popping and cracking. I just dealt with the pain and got the job done though". Asheim further noted that his approach to drumming on the album was "mostly improvised". He explained in another interview that the composition of the album reflected both preparation and improvisation. "Some vocals and guitar and bass stuff [were improvised]. The song writing – the parts and structures – were all done pre-pro[duction], before we got there. But once we were in and mic'd up, there was a lot of on-the-spot stuff happening. Most of my drum fills were improv[ised]. And I know the fellas just let loose with some on-the-fly kind of stuff together, and you can really hear that. I think the spontaneity and the energy, it really rings through".

In the Minds of Evil is certainly one of the best albums Deicide ever released, which consists of great songs including the opening title track, and all the songs have great guitar work, bass guitar work, drum work and vocals, and the production work on the album is fantastic. In the Minds of Evil certainly is in the same league with Deicide's first three albums, especially Legion. I believe this album is a lot better than their previous album To Hell With God (I must point out that (to date) I only listened to that album twice as I found it difficult to get into at the time, which is not the case with this album). In the Minds of Evil is very highly recommended to all fans of great metal music worldwide.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2013
First off, I like Deicide's early work. I also love their run of albums since their "return to form" with Scars of the Crucifix. I even like the two albums everyone else hates! But, most of all, I like their albums with Ralph Santolla, particularly Stench of Redemption and To Hell With God which I think are probably their best work.
So I was dismayed when Ralph left the band. But, to my great surprise, his replacement Kevin Quirion has seriously stepped up here, and not only played some fantastic leads, but also delivered quite a few excellent songs.
Steve Asheim has carried the band musically in recent years, but he hardly gets a credit here, with Quirion and Jack Owen writing most of the music. And it really works! Much of it sounds like early Deicide, much sounds like latter day Deicide with those ringing open chords on the hooks, and some of it sounds unlike anything the band has done before (I noticed the Cannibal Corpse-style pinch harmonics on one song right away and wondered where Asheim had got it from, only to realise it was a Jack Owen contribution).
Glen Benton provides all the lyrics, as usual. He might not be a literary genius, but he knows how to write words that fit the music and he does so here brilliantly. Sure, his brand of "Satanism" is simple anti-Christianity, rather than any deep moral or spiritual code (a la Nergal of Behemoth) but hey, that's Deicide's thing, just like Slayer and a dozen other bands in this genre.
I recommend every fan of death metal check this album out - old fans of the band will note the clear nod to the Hoffmans on the first guitar solo, but it then spirals upwards into something the brothers never could do and the entire album is like that. It's not quite as strong as Stench, and the hooks aren't quite as obvious as To Hell With God, but it's another step in the evolution of the band.
Ralph who?
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2013
Ive been a DEICIDE fan since I 1st saw them on their "Legion" tour waaaaaaaaaaay back. They get better with age, and sound their most evil!!! This is pure bada** evil that will make you grin evil as the blood pours from your earbuds! MUST BUY!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2016
very good. product as described and delivered quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2016
Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2014
Is it lazy to use the phrase 'return to form'? That is exactly what this is. If you like Deicide then this is a must buy, but it's a cracking album for anyone with a leaning towards death metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
Sick album from the heavy weights, Deicide once again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
Deicide. What more can i say as a fan since day one. A little biased. Buy it to keep the devil alive :-P
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)