Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
46
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Beatles Hey Jude album is not officially available on CD but this grey import is as good - or better - than a fully authorised version would be. Looking like a typical Japanese import ,the CD comes in a card facsimile sleeve with a large paper insert sheet featuring information in Japanese plus lyrics in English. The original album was released America in 1970 as a product of Allen Klein's association with the band and Apple at that time; although a popular import in the UK it didn't get an official release here until 1979. If you want to know the full history of the original album there is a good Wikipedia article under "Hey Jude (album)".

This CD features the original album, also known as "The Beatles Again", plus nine bonus tracks. I have listed the tracks here so you can see what you get. The sound quality is good on the original tracks, and the bonus tracks are well mastered too. A good one to add to your Beatles collection - get it while you can!

ORIGINAL ALBUM:
1. Can't Buy Me Love (Stereo)
2. I Should Have Known Better (Stereo)
3. Paperback Writer
4. Rain
5. Lady Madonna
6. Revolution
7. Hey Jude
8. Don't Let Me Down
9. Old Brown Shoe
10. Ballad of John and Yoko

BONUS TRACKS:
11. You Know My Name (Look Up My Number) (Original Mono Mix)
12. Hey Jude (Early Take) (Stereo)
13. Revolution (Rough Mono Mix)
14. Paperback Writer (Rough Stereo Mix)
15. Lady Madonna (Basic Stereo Mix)
16. Don't Let Me Down (Alternate Version) (Stereo)
17. Rain (1992 Stereo Remix)
18. Old Brown Shoe (Unedited Version)
19. You Know My Name (Look Up My Number) (Complete Stereo Version)
22 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
I bought this album on vinyl years ago,so im glad to get an updated and improved version of this great record,with extra tracks.Ok we`ve all got these songs on other albums but it still a great album to own and packaging is very good...well done the Japanese!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Since the Beatles organised their back catalogue with the CD issue in 1987, there have been several "lost" LP's, "Yesterday and Today", and "Hey Jude" being the two most obvious. I'm not sure how Japan got away with issuing this, but frankly I don't care - Hey Jude is one of my favourite Beatles albums, mainly because of the song mix from circa '64 to '69. It just captures everything about them.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This USA version of Revolver is very different from the UK and continental version. Well worth getting, by no means inferior to the European release just another experience. I would highly recommend any Beatles fan to get this and the other US albums. Because the Beatles public career started lasted only about 10 years, there is a limited amount of what is out there. If you have the (old) two capitol box sets that end with Rubber Soul. Then you just need 'Revolver', 'Yesterday and Today' and 'Hey Jude' to complete your American collection. You can now get a complete box set of all the albums (but that is expensive). If you only like one Beatles Album get the American version as well. The US version of Revolver is the last one with different tracks. Sgt. Pepper was the same both sides of the Atlantic. Really recommend this album. Even though you have all the tracks if you have all the Beatles UK albums, it is still worth the experience of listening to how the Americans were introduced to the Beatles.While on the topic any beatle fans should check out Macca's CD "Memory Almost Full" it is like 13 new Beatle tracks
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
So much better than the official release, it's the correct original mixes for a start (not the 2009 ones). Also there are 9 bonus tracks and a fab insert. Easily my favourite compilation.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Not the strongest of Albums (in fact it's a back catalogue filler Album made for the overseas market) but it has more than enough to hold its own against many other groups. There are some great tracks on here but the odd weak one too, but its all a question of personal choice. This is a very good album but unless a hardened fan, it doesn't contain anything of special rarity for the collector or of particular interest for the casual listener. Nevertheless, it is The Beatles, and worth 4 out of 5 stars every day of the week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 July 2016
"Hey Jude" was originally issued in the USA in February 1970, immediately prior to the worldwide release of the final Beatles studio album ("Let It Be"). It consists of several non-album singles (including B-sides), from as early as 1964 through to 1969. As this wasn't one of the 'main' Beatles releases, it became rather rare on vinyl (being out of print in the 1980's), and was much sought after by fans of the band.

The album originally consisted of 10 tracks: "Can't Buy Me Love", "I Should Have Known Better", "Paperback Writer", "Rain", "Lady Madonna", "Revolution", "Hey Jude", "Old Brown Shoe", "Don't Let Me Down", and "The Ballad of John and Yoko".

This CD presents several 'bonus' tracks (mainly consisting of alternative versions): "You Know My Name (Look Up My Number)", "Hey Jude", "Revolution", "Paperback Writer", "Lady Madonna", "Don't Let Me Down", "Rain", "Old Brown Shoe", and "You Know My Name (Look Up My Number)".

If you're a major fan of the Beatles, this album will help complete your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
Hey Jude is an excellent CD with a really good selection. It arrived early and safely. Service was perfect. Only problem, and this is not due to the seller, was the order of the songs as printed on the CD cover. I can only assume, I might be wrong, that this is the order, as originally issued on LP back in 1970. But it is not the actual order on the CD.
Luckily, there is a little card wrapped around the edge of the CD when it arrives, with the correct order of the songs on it.
The correct order actually makes more sense as the order on the cover, as probably originally issued is completely mixed backwards and forwards over their recording time.
The actual order of the CD is in the correct order of issue from the beginning and this is as how it should be.
A very good purchase, even for the person who has everything already, as it was a special issue at the time that was not on general issue everywhere and probably still isn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I had this album on vinyl many years ago as an american import so it was great to be able to finally add it to my cd collection. \\\\\\\it did not take that long to arrive and was well packaged.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Collection of tracks (from various stages in the Beatles' development) that don't really fit together, being songs not previously released on US albums (I think)
I bought the vinyl version in the 70s believing it was a proper album and simply had to have it again for old time's sake!
Casual listeners are better off going for the more conventional compilation albums (such as Red, Blue, Past Masters) but true fans will simply have to buy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.34

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)