Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
53
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Definitely a recommended read. Brilliant characters and fascinating story line. So looking forward to the sequel. Can't wait to see how it concludes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Was enjoying this book but never had a proper ending just left you hanging in the air and then went onto the next book which may finish the story - bit of a teaser really very disappointed :(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
A great prequel I think to A Wartime Wife. Very tightly written and gets straight to the point whilst creating a believable main character.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Rather short book so you need to read the next story in this saga.Felt cheated had just got into the story when it ended suddenly.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Another book that does not inform you that you should read before war time wife wish some indication maybe in the title
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Pause for thought would be a good description for this long short story. It shows that, if left too late, telling the truth is not always a good thing - for anyone. Well-intentioned Mary Ann, doing what she thinks is best, manages to deal herself a life from hell. As this is set around the time of the First World War she has to live with the consequences, proving that truth at any cost can sometimes be too big a price to pay. I liked her spirit in dealing with what life threw at her, and felt sorry for her, so was delighted to discover that the author has also written a full-length novel about Mary Ann in later life called Wartime Wife.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Just started reading this book tonight and I couldn't believe I had come to the end of the book which led you to two chapters of her next book. I have raved about this writer and she does write well. But tonight I am left very disappointed. I was reading the books out of sequence and had read the next book. When you buy a novel to read, even at a low price you do expect a fell book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
This is the first of the Mary Anne and Henry Randall stories and found it disappointingly short (60% on my kindle),however it is a good introduction to the characters and lets us know what came to form the basis of their marriage and the bitterness in it. We also learn about Mary Anne's beloved who was killed, worth reading but short I read it in 2 hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
well what a disapointment really enjoying the book up to the 10 chapter when suddenly the Author forgot to continue with the rest of the story
a large bit had disappeared it jumped forward to next bit of the book totally different to the being it became boring and a totally waste of time
in fact i just gave up reading the rest of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here