Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 July 2016
At last we get to the heart of Marcus' back-story, and having made us wait this long for it Anthony Riches doesn't disappoint! Moving away from the battlefields of northern Europe to the streets of Rome, this storyline crackles with tension as Marcus and his friends navigate the political undercurrents around the emperor. Don't think for a moment that because there are no big battles in this one that the pace drops, because it doesn't - in fact the scenes in the arena are all the more potent for being close-ups on a few characters. And there are some great surprises as you find out who was who in Marcus' early life. Definitely one not to be missed in a very strong series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
Great action and characters. My only complaint is that in this series the heroes have extraordinary powers of foresight and planning: their plans rarely go seriously wrong. In this book in particular the challenge was supposed to be incredibly difficult but seemed fairly easily accomplished. I begin to feel like the characters aren't in much peril.....
Still gets 5 stars because the book is thoroughly entertaining and well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2017
as usual a gripping episode of this really good story of one mans paqssage through time to avenge his families honour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
Another great book in the Empire series. This time our hero is in Rome and it isn't long before the action starts and doesn't stop till the end. Great book in a great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2015
As always a good read. Love the storylines in the Empire series which manages to take you all over the Roman Empire. The detail is excellent, the plot pulls you in and you are rooting for the characters in no time. I particularly love Anthony Riches' ability to have his characters have a good sense of humour throughout to lighten the mood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2015
Loved this edition of the series best so far. Makes a nice change to be based in Rome and thus more empathises on intrigue and politics with good helpings of violence and gladiatorial combat. The narrative surrounding the games is very good, you would not want to be the person going out onto the sand to face your end.
Get this book that's all I'll say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2018
Centurion Corvus tracks his families murderers down attempting to silence the demons in his head. Exciting and bloody climax with another journey to warmer climes on the horizon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2015
Anthony Riches just keeps getting better and better ! Far from becoming stale the characters remain interesting and their adventures exciting. I've now read all of them and hope I don't have long to wait before the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2015
I've given this book 5 stars because I really enjoyed the whole story, despite the proof readers determination to confuse Velox and Mortifuram. (But hey no need to be picky!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2017
Intrigue and bloodshed a the whims of a pyschopathic Emperor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse