Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
185
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Fab concert.would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
GOOD BUY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Absolutely love Robbie, have done ever sine Take That were around the first time! This is a must for any Robbie fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
I ordered this bluray on pre-order in November and eagerly awaited its arrival, however I had to wait 4 days after its due date (not sure who to blame, Amazon or Royal Mail).
When it finally arrived I sat and watched the entire disc. The bluray version has everything on the one disc and what is so good about bluray is that you don't have to go out of the show to go to the main menu. this consists of show, access to individual songs, documentary & sound options.

SHOW. The bluray copy of the show had a clear picture that kept it's sharpness during the picture pan (obviously TVs differ according to make and model) and the sound was very crisp. However, the colour wasn't as vibrant nor was the picture as sharp as I expected for a bluray, it was no better than the HD showing on telly and wasn't as sharp as other shows on bluray I have. My bluray is connected to a surround system and this was very good and picked up all the instruments.

DOCUMENTARY. This is a 'fly on the wall' look behind the scenes of the Palladium rehearsals from the bare bones of the band getting together, meeting up with the whole ensemble to actual night. whilst short in duration, this is straight to the point and very informative.

SOUND OPTIONS. Three options, Stereo, and two separate 5.1 options, pick the correct option for you system or it will not sound right.

The show has songs from 'Swing When You're Winning' and 'Swings Both Ways' featuring some but not all guests from the album, whilst also included are some songs not on his albums and some 'swinged up' familiar songs from different genres. Robbie is energetic, comical and totally entertaining, backed by a superb band some people may remember individuals from his Take The Crown tour.
All in all a harmless & enjoyable piece of light entertainment that all swing and Robbie fans will enjoy.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Robbie Williams is one of very few pop stars today who can sing and perform old time music like this. He is a great showman and had people at the London Palladium on their feet and having a great night.
This was the show that was shown in a shortened version just before Xmas on the telly. I like to see and hear Robbie doing this swing stuff and he had a few guests performing numbers with him. I particularly liked his new single, which he wrote for his young daughter "Go Gently" where he looked every bit the proud father as he sang it in close up. Also "No One Likes A Fat Pop Star", which he sang in a fat suit hanging above the audience, while a small theater cast did a sort of Oliver Twist street scene below him.
He also had the Muppets on during the show in little side sketches, which although I am fine with them, they didn't really need to be a part of this. Then he did a quite respectable duet with his dad, so it was obvious his dad must also be a part time, or a club singer somewhere?
The show was about 1:30 hrs and there was a short extra about the making of the show on the disk, with Robbie in normal street clothes getting really involved in the planning of the show. Sometimes on concert type blu ray's you don't always get a choice of which sound you want to hear, or be able to pick out songs from the complete show, but in this case you have the full proper chapter settings to pick as well as the choice of standard stereo, DTS 5.1 or Dolby Digital.
If you like Robbie Williams or this kind of music, this is a good though quite short show on blu ray and a cheap relaxing musical night in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Great concert except the sound quality is very poor. Blue Ray and DVD claim its in Dolby 5.1 but it does not sound like it. No sound from center speaker which suggests its only a stereo mix being peddled as Dolby 5.1. This is not the first time I have come across this on live concert DVD and Blue Rays. If people are investing in expensive surround sound systems why should they have to put up with inferior sound mixes on Blue Rays and DVDs. It understandable in the case of concerts recorded before the use of Dolby 5.1 became widespread but not acceptable in the case of recent recordings. Apologies for the rant but its time people know what is going on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I was worried that Palladium's is not such quality as Albert Hall's.
But I was wrong!
Robbie is in top form as an artist here, not only as a performer/singer.

Albert Hall is more soulful but Palladium is more entertainment and that's great that we have two different things for different tastes.

Swings Both Ways, No One Likes a Fat Pop Star, If I Only Had a Brain, High Hopes with kids are the best ones in this concert.

Must see
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Great product for a diehard fan. Great entertainment & Rob shows his versatility as well as his childish side as he performs with friends and Miss Piggy. Fabulous
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Loved the Blu Ray DVD.I was able to watch it in the United States. My smart tv was smarter than I thought. Robbie Williams was a class act. Incredible showman and greatest entertainer of my time. Loved the Swing songs, plus all the others. The Muppets were very entertaining. I felt like I was there. Could be the size of the TV. The quality of the BluRay DVD was excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Loved this must see for any Robbie fan who couldn't get tickets for this. Will be watched and watched in my house lol
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)