Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
34
3.2 out of 5 stars
Under The Bed [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 September 2014
an elder brother comes home after spending 32 years at his aunts recovering to find his little brother seeing the same thing under the bed as he has,this thing comes everynight and will stop at nothing ,so the boys come up with a plan too kill it but mustn't fall asleep,i wontt tell you the end,yes I recommend this
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2017
it was ok,need more horror in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Yes this movie has few minor plot issues but nothing to really put you off sitting through it as most part its very enjoyable, I had a great time with it, the story does build up slowly so you have to be patient but it builds up in an interesting point of view of youngsters dealing with non believing adults about things that go bump in the night, as adults we tend to believe in a logical explanation but as children the bogeyman has many real forms, this monster in particular appears to be preying on the kids that have lived in the house for years, the last 20 minutes of the film is what it all builds up to with cool looking retro bogeyman type creature effects and some sweet gore, for a low budget movie this is great fun and a breath of fresh air, certainly worth picking up, this import version is region free so will play in the UK no problems!! No features though unfortunately a behind the scenes would have been nice.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
A fun 80's throwback horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Neal (Jonny Weston) a moody, mumbling high school student has been away living with Aunt Sarah for two years following the fire incident. He is coming home with his less than understanding father (Peter Holden) to reunite with his younger brother Paulie (Gattlin Griffith) and meet his new step mother Angela (Musetta Vander). As the progresses we find out more about the fire incident and the thing that lives under the bed.

I liked how they did the horror and creep factor in the film. It didn't come at you constantly so you didn't get numb to it. There were a number of things that made me scratch my head.

1) Neal was gone for 2 years. Paulie was 3 when he left. He is clearly well older than 5, more like 10 or 11.
2) Angela experiences an early encounter, then acts like nothing happened.
3) Paulie has been sleeping in the same room as this thing for years which seems absurd.
4) Dad forces them to sleep in the haunted room to prove a point.

I felt like there were some missing scenes. Makes for a good rental. Watch it for the scare and try not to think too much about the plot.

Parental Guide: 4 F-bombs (my count). No sex or nudity.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
The film looks good,not made on a poor budget with a drummed up cover to sell it.
Well acted...the two brothers give a fine performance...but nothing happens.give it another 20-30 minutes and...nothing happens.no gore,no nudity,no real shocks and whoever did the wardrobe for the actor portraying the father needs to find another career.reason? Well men sometimes get whats known as moobs be it through a problem medically or sheer slobishness.fair play if the actor doesn't care but surely wardrobe or even the director could have mentioned it in private.
Anyway,enough about moobs.
Well acted,poorly paced,well shot load of tutt.
2 stars for the acting and use of good filming equipment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
One of the worst films I've ever seen, totally unscary, surprised I finished it to be truthful. Best bit for me is when after watching her brothers head get ripped off and neal saying run, cara's response is "what about you" what about your poor brother haha
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 May 2014
Two brothers, the older of which has returned home after setting his house on fire and inadvertently killing his mother, must do battle against a man in a rubber suit who lives under their bed. Okay, so it’s actually a monster, but, when you see it, you’ll probably think, ‘Oh, there’s a man in a rubber monster suit.’ Yes, that’s the tone of the film.

Naturally, the boys’ parents think they’re crazy and their dad is a complete idiot at all times (whether they’re talking about monsters or asking for a drink of milk, he seems to find it in himself to start shouting and threatening to lock everyone in their rooms forever... or something like that – in short, he’s a douche). Then you have your clichéd bullies who think he’s crazy and they live next door (do you get the impression this film is lining up plenty of characters who are going to fall foul from the thing under the bed?). But it’s not all bad news for the older brother... no sooner has he returned to his home town then he’s met the one hot girl who finds surly, reclusive arsonists who ride BMXs really attractive. So there you have your ‘love interest.’ Yawn.

The film starts off slow. I’m guessing this is to ‘build tension.’ But it just involves things moving in the house. Personally, I’ve never found a washing machine’s door shutting by itself that horrific.

Yeah, there’s a climax and some funky coloured lights here and there. They even throw in a chainsaw by this time to try and spice things up, but, by now, do you care? I didn’t. It’s not terrible, just nothing remotely new enough to warrant me paying it any real attention.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
...is the best place for this film if you can't be bothered to put it in the bin!

Dear God,did I really waste money on this pile of drivel? Were the other reviewers watching another film? One that actually had a decent plot and credible acting?

I'm not hard to please with horror films,really, but I do kind of like them to make some sort if sense and this had me totally nonplussed within the first 15 mins with the first most ridiculous premiss ever....

Older kid has some trauma to do with a monster under the bed, goes away for a couple of years and comes back still all spooked and moody, glowering at his bedroom door all bug-eyed with fear. He then finds his little brother has been SLEEPING IN HIS ROOM since he left!
Whaaattt?? Does this kid have a persecution complex or something ?? Did he gather big bro went nuts due to a beastie under the bed and figure that far from nailing the door shut and barricading it with crosses and holy water he would leave his non-beastied room and go in there instead?! Sure he does,the little tyke!

Follow this up with some very,very stupid ideas about avoiding said monster: don't move or make any noise...yet they carry on yapping and little bro takes a running jump onto the bed as an example of staying still and making no noise. Both brothers then decide to spend a night sleeping on a chest of drawers and avoiding the bed with some weird idea that the creature is bound to the bed. Which it isn't,of course, as it ends up rampaging around next door,drawn by SKIN CELLS on the pillows they take round for a sleepover...yes indeed!!

I found myself wondering what exactly the monster had done to so upset big bro when he says at some point it never got closer than a couple of foot from him. Did it make grunting noises, shake the bed a bit? Did it bitch about it's day and keep him awake? It's certainly upped it's game for his return as it goes lollopping around ripping off heads by the end of the film, seeming to have abandoned any decent monster rules about keeping hidden from adults and only scaring kids.
Maybe it found the kids scary,certainly the neighbour kids are a couple of the oddest I've ever seen in a film.

So anyway...so far, so bad. Throw in a bullying 'I'll make a man of you!' father who likes to lock his kids in the bedroom and who overacts shamelessly,and a stepmother who tries to be sympathetic and has a weird, early on encounter with a set of claws and jumping washing machines that is never referred to again; a creepy neighbour(father of the creepy kids), and a love interest that never goes anywhere, and you have a whole ragbag of loose ends and pointless plotlines that go nowhere.

In an ending as amazingly dumb as I've ever seen, big bro attempts a Leatherface on the creature and is bitch-slapped for his pains, finally defeating it by throwing the ashes of his dead mum at it. I kid you not! Supermum from beyond the grave,her ashes oh so conveniently being kept in the garage where the final showdown takes place. As she is barely mentioned in the rest of the film,I've no idea why her ashes would save the day, but obviously the writer thinks they should,so they do. So there.
Everything ends with a hug in the garage.

If you like awfully stereotyped characters that do things even awfully stereotyped characters wouldn't do and plot holes so huge you could drive a bus through,then this could be the movie for you!
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)