Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2017
Great short introduction to the area of Medical Ethics. Covers common areas - euthanasia, assisted dying, modern genetics, confidentiality, medical research, consent, etc... Clearly and concisely written with the reader in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
An amazing read! As a student hoping to apply for medicine at university this book was very informative, and despite the occasional headache from some very controversial and complex ideas, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
This book is just as you would expect, a short introduction into the world of medical ethics, gives a good foundation and some insight into the extensive topic and if you intend to delve into this subject I would definitely recommend you begin here. Personally I did not agree with some opinionated statements by the author but nevertheless that's what I believe ethics is really all about, forming opinions on situations using your own logic and morals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
This is an excellent book, and excellent introduction to medical ethics. I purchased this book in the months before applying for medicine at university, and read it once or twice before my interviews. It was invaluable, offering an easy to understand and well structured discussion on medical ethics.

More importantly, the book was full of excellent examples which would be easily remembered as they were interesting in nature (well, interesting to a medicine applicant anyway!). I found myself in several of my medicine interviews being questioned upon the ethics of medicine, and instantly, really interesting examples came to my head from this book, allowing me to continue the discussion in the interview.

I particularly enjoyed the section on Quality Adjusted Life Years (QALYs), and having just finished my first year of medicine at university, QALYs come up in the degree as well as possibly in interviews.

Overall, this is a great book, it's price:usefulness ratio is brilliant. If nothing else, it should be read on the train/car trip to a medicine interview as the ethics questions can be among the hardest that interviewers ask. The book is also interesting enough that people not applying for medicine, or currently doing medicine, would find it a good read too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Too short and doesn't really explain the key elements of medical ethics very well. I found this very unhelpful and was quite frankly a little disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
Clearly and concisely written this book puts forward a number of extremely interesting arguments surrounding various topics in medical ethics. Contains useful information about how (if at all) these arguments influence real-life practice. Does pretty much exactly what the title would suggest. Excellent value for money.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Good condition, great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nice book and small enough that you don't get bored. Bought that as background reading for forthcoming med school interviews but am worried it may be an overkill. Worth getting though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
This well-balanced and expertly crafted paperback fills a critical gap in 21st Century medical education. It addresses hot issues in the UK, such as the current debate on 'assisted dying' (active euthanasia). Rarified jargon and obscure legal precedents are avoided, wisely, and I have already recommended it for postgraduate students in our PGME centre. The issues covered would apply widely in healthcare training, and this could become a classic 'Introduction' for both medical and nursing undergraduate courses in ethics and in social policy.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
would recommend to anyone applying for medicine degrees, so useful to get your head around the basics and help rationalise and structure your arguments at interview. have referenced it since in several essays, presentations and debates. well worth it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)