Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2013
I bought this album after hearing the tracks fizzy blood/pretty please. I originally thought it was one track but after buying these cd's I realised that they weren't. Cd 1 is a hard hitting punk album even metal in parts with ferocious shouting vocals by Jamie, well worth a listen for anyone who likes their music loud. The second cd is a more laid back, but just as good, with good emphasis on harmonies and clearer vocals. It is a peculiar album, with tracks that contrast both ends of his musical endeavours. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I've listened to both CDs several times since it was delivered on Monday and this album is astonishingly good.

The first disc is heavy, angry and vocal shreddingly aggressive. The second disc is simply beautiful. Lovely harmonies, instrumentation and lyrically sound.

If you're a fan of Reuben it's essential listening. Given the diversity of the second disc alone I'd say it's worth buying.

Tremendous.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
The first disc is so mind-blowing. The song "one of my eyes is a clock" is absolutely brilliant. All the heavy tracks are so angry and full of excellent riffs. I think Jamie Lenman should tour with very heavy bands, even Sepultura or Limpbizkit because i reckon it would appeal massively to that sort of audience. The soft side is beautiful, but it doesn't do much for me because its not my kind of music. I'll still rate that side 4 stars because there are moments that I love like the jazzy section in "pretty please" and the lovely melodies and harmonies in "it's hard to be a gentlemen." Overall, this is a must buy for any fan of heavy metal and folk music. Ok, it has elements of other styles on each disc but those two categories are the two main ones in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Mix of brutal and gentle songs was a brilliant aspect; the first disc kicks you in the teeth and leaves you bloodied and battered, and the second softly nurses you back to health. A deliciously bipolar album by an all time favourite musician of mine! And the 'GentLenman' graphics are brilliant too! Yes i coined that!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
This is a double album if there ever was one. On one side you have pure rage and aggression (there are only a handful of words Lenman doesn't screech at you) and if that's your thing, then great. Even as a Reuben fan, however, I found it to be just too much. There's very little contrast and variation and it all seems to sound the same. There are a few titbits of Lenman's usual creativity to be found but just not enough. On the other side you have a mixture of banjo songs, acoustic guitar duets and even a shanty-type song. Let no man say the songs on disc 2 aren't varied. The quality is generally good, Jamie Lenman shows great versatility and two or three of the tracks are really great. If you're into folky stuff you'll like it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Anyone reading this will know of Jamie's back catalogue. What he does here is incredibly impressive, one 11 track album of gut-wrenching metal, then other of highly pleasant 'other' styles.

Muscle is a hard listen but if you want some seriously hard metal, with some incredibly chuggy riffs, it's almost ideal. The beatdown in 6 Fingered Hand is a prime example.

Memory is touching, heartfelt... A glimpse into his life, someone who's basically very down to earth. Muscle has the same honest approach to lyrics but instead you see exactly what winds him up.

It's one hell of an album. In terms of what it provides the listener, it's 23 tracks of variety, insight and amazement. Even if you don't like metal, but it for the 11 tracks on Memory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
More proof that Jamie is a musical genius. As a die-hard Reuben fan I was excited about this when I heard it was being released, and I was not disappointed.

I am obsessed with the track "Pretty Please" at the moment, that gets played in my household a LOT.

If you've found yourself here and you're considering buying this album then you probably don't need to read my review to know you're buying something amazing. C'mon guys, Jamie Lenman... it's a no-brainer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
If you like Reuben you're going to love this album even more. The first cd is heavier and louder than the old band and the second cd is just incredible. Saw him live at the Thekla in Bristol and he really made the album come to life too. I'd say disc 2 is my favorite but as a whole this album is worth every penny and will be spinning around my CD player for a long time.
Oh and the album art is pretty cool too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
As a big fan of Reuben, front man Jamie Lenman's solo album kicks off where Reuben left off. The first disc is heavy, angry and full of clever lyrics. The second disc couldn't be more different, lots of mellow styles (acoustic, blues etc) but still lyrically very strong. Overall a really solid album and a must have for Reuben or Freeze the Atlantic fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Loved this guy when he was in Reuben, still love him doing this stuff. The first CD is a lot heavier than Reuben and the second is folky indie stuff so it's polar compared to his previous work. It'll probably take a couple of listens but after that it'll be your favorite album, at least, that's how I took it. Can't wait to hear more from him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£0.99
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)