Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2016
Lovely story, hard to work out what happened at 31% when it jumped from workhouse to pit just on return of paragraph however ready for it on next scene change. Well worth reading for anyone interested in local and family history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Did not like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Yes it said short story BUT my god I've read longer news paper story's. I have enjoyed Catrin Collier books and have told friends too buy them but not this one buy something else. Was it someone else who wrote this????????
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
This was an interesting short story, although I wonder if Christmas was celebrated this much in the workhouse, ie the decorations and meal served by the public guardians on Christmas Day?
All in all I enjoyed this short story.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
A lovely story based on a workhouse in Pontypridd (where I was born) interesting to know how they lived at that time.
My only complaint, it ended too soon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This was my first book downloaded on my Kindle which was a Xmas present. Pretty appropriate don't you think? And good value at the price !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
AS usual a great story based on fact. However the presentation of the E Book was very poorly done. The paragraphs were not defined properly so different portions of the story ran into one another. For that reason my rating is a 4 which is not the authors fault.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Engrossing story showing the hardships which we are lucky to have never known. A close knit community helping each other at times of need.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
reminds one that there is humanity left in this world. so little shown these days you tend to forget.thanks catering for reminding me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
A Christmas short story another great book by this. Author always has me pulled into the story the workhouse is now a hospital
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.84

Need customer service? Click here