Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 7 September 2016
Long may Gunnhildur keep detecting. A really good plot with interesting characters and lots of financial underhandedness. Quentin Bates knows Iceland like the back of his hand, and because he's a Brit, we don't have to put up with dodgy translations. I have Thin Ice ready to read, and can't wait until the 6th book in the series is out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Another great entertainment from Mr Bates. Containing good writing skills, plot and location descriptions that draw you into the characters' lives. If I had any complaint it might be that, as an old man, I have a problem with their names. But this is my problem as I tend to skip (not read) their Icelandic names and then get confused about who is who. But I look forward to his next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Compared with other Gunnhildur novels I have read, this one is a bit dull. I will probably finish it but I am not gripped by it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Iceland - amazing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Love these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
like ;putting an a comfy pair of slippers, the characters are now familiar and this allows t he story to rip along at pace. A good book for a holiday read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Enjoyed this one although a little slow paced at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 May 2014
Scandanavian Crime fiction is the 'in' read and the 'in' film. To this mix we add Qunetin Bates, and his heroine, Sergeant Gunnhildur "Gunna" Gísladóttir. Gunna as she is known is my kind of woman, professional, attractive and finds her way successfully in the world of men.

Sergeant Gunnhildur "Gunna" Gísladóttir has a command post with Reykjavík, Iceland's Serious Crime Unit. She is well known to her colleagues where she has solved crimes and made a good name for herself. In this story, Gunna has just come off a vacation. She is assigned to investigate the background of a man who was found shot. His young girlfriend found naked but unharmed. Gunna is to see what she can find. Into this miserable mix, we find three young women who have immigrated from the eastern provinces near Russia. They clean for a group and are assigned daily duties. Their interactions will be clarified later. At the same time we are introduced to some men who are criminals and work for another group who drive truckloads of goods here and there. In their off time these men steal from homes and businesses. A dentist and his young wife who have their hands in many pies are also involved in this storyline. A lot of people to keep straight, but Gunna is intelligent and puts pieces together one at a time.

At home, Gunna's son has impregnated two young women. He supports both of them, and spends time with boy. He is still working on a ship and is gone for three months at a time. Gunna is busy enough that she has not involved herself in his business, much. Her man, Steni is there for her, and all seems fine and dandy. So,some confusion at home, but lots of business at work. This is such a complicated storyline, but it flows well. I found as I read that I became more involved. The characters and Gunna's colleagues, in particular, keep us well advised and on our toes.

Recommended. prisrob 05-04-14
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 May 2014
Officer Gunnhilder Gisladottir, or Gunna as she is affectionately known, finds herself in the midst of yet another murder mystery. A businessman has been shot dead, and Gunna must investigate his affairs. In doing that she also has to track down a very successful and as yet, unidentified housebreaker who has been on the Police radar for some time now.

Quentin Bates has yet again delivered a complex, well-written story that is as intriguing as it is exciting. Gunna's character develops more with each new episode of her story, and the reader learns more about her and her family, as well as following her through an incredibly difficult case. I like Gunna as a heroine. She's down-to-earth, sometimes very funny, intelligent and witty. She has a family problems and she has a difficult job, but she's always real.

I was particularly interested in the inclusion of characters from Iceland's immigrant population, giving a different take on life in the country as they have to deal with language and culture that is not their own.

This is an intelligently written, complex thriller. Gritty and violent at times and of course those almost impossible to read and pronounce Icelandic names that have become a trademark of this series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
This moves the Gunna stories up a notch - or maybe more. Now we are getting into a some very serious and nasty crime. It is gritty and much more fast-paced than the earlier books. Lots of suspense.
It tails off and calms down a bit too much at the end - but maybe it seems that way because the body of the story is so packed. It would be great if the same impetus could be maintained right up to the very last page.
Come on Quentin. Get writing. How long are we going to have to wait for the next one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse