Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.59


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2017
I'd never heard this band before but am a fan of Fleet Foxes and since they were on the Bella Union label I thought I'd give them a whirl. Glad I did. Though you can tell they are from the same Bella Union stable, they are very different to Fleet Foxes. There are some interesting harmonies in there but Midlake (at least on this album) have a harder rock edge to them, tinged with folk and a smattering of psychadelia. It's an interesting mix and works especially well on title track 'Antiphon', 'Provider' and 'The Old & The Young'. Further on and there's some dirty blues thrown in too on 'Ages'. Definitely worth a listen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Occupanther was o perfect, and Courage so personal - it was always going obe hard to make it three in a row, and they haven't.
This i OK, and did sound better when I saw them live at Hammersmith - but the format of the songs grates a little on me - lots of carefully worded, repeating anthems, almost designed for a non-singer to sing. I wish them the best as the really put on a great show and are a true fans band - but this is a 3 at best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Very happy with purchase and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I was expecting big things from this album and I certainly wasn't disappointed. First listen I thought it was good, 2nd listen it comes alive! Can't wait to see Midlake on tour in Feb now. Fantastic album with a 70s vibe to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Continuing their excellent development as a band this is a wonderful hypnotic album full of great music with more of an edge than the last album...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Well I am pleased Tim Smith has left. The material was getting rather boring... You could really not tell one track from another on their previous album but this new one is fantastic in every way

Better vocal writing, more varied and interesting arrangements and a welcome return to a 70s feel - at times almost like the Canterbury sound.
Well done lads, let's have another one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I was lucky to catch Midlake at the Roundhouse, Camden, 2010. They were stunning. To hear the loss of Tim Smith was an almighty blow.
When they said they were playing Islington Assembley Hall in October of this year, I decided I had to see them. Just to see if they could cut it live and without Smith. They did! In fact they blew me away. I bought this on vinyl that vey night. I got home and had a late night listen. What I heard really surprised and enthralled me. Just wonderful. Like any great album, it grows and gets better on repeated listens. Antiphon, Provider, The Old and the Young and the Camel/Genesis feel of It's Going Down, open the album so well, that once you get to Vale, you're happy to take the proggy instrumental trip. Some critics have said that the second half drags a little. It does, but not in a bad way. The harmonies, and brilliant hooks are all there. You just have to listen a little harder.
Aurora Gone is another classic. Beautiful. This Weight is full of subtle, ear catching moments.
One thing puzzles me? If they can release an album of this kind of quality, why the hell didn't they put forward their writing talents before. I look forward to Tim Smith's Harp. If he ever gets round to it. Fans gain tons from this seperation.
For those that say a band dies when the lead singer leaves, I'd say look again. Fair enough, a band like Queen are not Queen without Mercury. Also, No Marc Bolan, no T.Rex. Fairport Covention went through changes every year, and thank god for that, we'd never have got their excellent "Full House". When Peter Gabriel left Genesis, it looked like the end. Instead the world got A Trick Of The Tail and Wind and Wuthering. Two brilliant albums. Pink Floyd survived Syd, and prospered too. Midlake are alive. This album could well be the beginnings of something. It's a Midlake album. No doubt about that. A band can't just repeat the same formula, it has to try new things. This has it all.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
For me Midlake are one of those bands who sound better live than they ever have on record. They have a fare beefier and rockier sound than they have ever previously managed to capture on record. This album goes a long way to addressing this, like their previous albums there are some peaks and troughs but despite it's (very) high points I don't think I could have taken a Courage Of Others part 2, some great songs yes but also in danger of disappearing up Tim Smith's fundament, with its endless minor chord guitar arpeggios , relentless gloom and flute.
Antiphon is far more direct as far as it's sound goes, it doesn't have a killer tune like Head Home or Roscoe but is a gorgeous sounding record with only the final and rather pointless Provider (reprise) trying the patience. It takes a couple of listens but there are tunes on here that will lodge themselves in your head and from a Muso point of view is there a rock band out there more accomplished?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The recent news that Tim Smith the architect of much of Midlake's music had departed the band will have sounded alarm bells and could be seen as fatal for this bunch of intrepid musicians from Denton Texas. As the driving force behind the classic-rock revivalism of the stunning "Trials of the Van Occupanther" and the marginally less successful folk rock of 2010s "Courage of others", Smith's finicky musical perfectionism has dominated this band. Yet following that album this same trait pulled the band apart. Despite nearly two years spent together trying to record a new album entitled "Seven long suns" Smith has subsequently admitted that only one song emerged from these sessions. He has since honestly reflected on his position within the band that "I knew I was holding them back and I knew some of them felt the same way"

So what about the remaining members, have they managed to plug the gap on this new album "Antiphon"? It is a pleasure to report that the answer is affirmative. It is an album more tuned into the vibes of "Van Occupanther" and the songs written over a six month period are very strong. Eric Pulido, who's also the band's guitarist, is the new frontman and is well supported by his fellow members. On first listens this is a more upbeat band than some of the dour fare that so dogged the latter part of "Courage". The title track "Antiphon" is a big melodic psychedelic rock number which grows enormously in stature on repeated listens. The song "The Old and the Young" will lead some to reflect why had not the song writing skills of other band members been drawn upon to a greater degree. It is a joyous aural assault full of pounding bass and a very strong vocal by Pulido. The haunting song "Provider" is a musical au revoir to Smith and is as good as anything the band has previously committed to vinyl. It sees them stretching out into wider sonic swirls and psychedelic guitar licks

There are couple of songs that don't immediately appeal not least "Ages" which does not initially fire at any level, but is stronger on subsequent plays. Similarly the instrumental "Vale" does take some time to get off the ground and is not particularly interesting when it does. Yet the lovely "Aurora Gone" makes up for any deficiency in its slow simmering acoustic beauty. One of the standout tracks "Its going down" also builds on the past and is a lovely tapestry of sound. Overall the departure of their widely acknowledged creative leader has ben cleverly navigated by Midlake and they hold on to this valuable brand name with real pride and genuine authenticity. "Antiphon" is no "stop gap" or intermission. It takes the bands music forward and deserves the success which will undoubtedly follow.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
The talented musicians in Texas-based group Midlake have never been afraid to embrace change in terms of musical styles, dabbling with different genres ranging from Alternative/Indie (2004's Bamnan And Slivercork), `70s Laurel Canyon-inspired Westcoast/Soft-Rock (2006's The Trials Of Van Occupanther), and vintage British Folk/Folk-Rock (2010's The Courage Of Others). But when lead singer/main songwriter Tim Smith quite unexpectedly chose to leave during the recording sessions for Midlake's fourth full-length release due to creative differences, fans feared that he left a void the size of Texas. From an outsider's perspective, his departure could very well have been the beginning of the end for Midlake, but listening to Antiphon it sounds more like a fresh new start. A triumph.

volt-and-volume.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)