Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2015
adore this man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This is the official autobiography of Morrissey. Every line is like poetry and a very obvious display of Morrissey's intelligence. I have not finished the book yet, but it reveals a lot of his family life and influences on his lyrics. The European version has a few more pages than the U.S. release, so I am happy I purchased from the U.K.

I recommend to any Smiths,Morrissey or music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I own both UK soft cover and UK hard cover. The hard cover is elegant! The pictures are in color and they look 100% better! The lettering on the jacket is beautifully pressed. One can feel the letters upon touching them.
While reading the book, it is so detailed, I felt I was there in the moment, whatever it was that Morrissey was describing.
I enjoyed this book. I could not put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
I enjoyed reading the autobiography very much, it was interesting to get to know more about his life and how he sees the world etc., however, you must be very interested in pop music history and in how the music industry works in order to be hooked... And you must bear with a good deal of complaints of all sorts. After all, this is Morrissey, yet, this is what some of us really like him for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
The book's review is no ambition of mine but I will only inform people that this book edition is quite fragile. If you read the book once, it will clearly show (white marks on the edges of the book, and so on). In other words, it ages quickly! Not a problem if you like your books to "live" but for those who like their collection to seem untouched, this edition is clearly not for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Steven Patrick Morrissey has written some beautiful lyrics for songs which helped define a generation.He has also written a terrible book. Contrary to the opinions of some of the other reviewers here this is a not a well -written book, it is a very,very badly written book. In fact it is so badly written I wonder if Penguin submitted the text to any editorial process whatsoever.

Stylistically hackneyed, incoherent and self-contradictory, it beggars belief that the author of this turgid dross has the pretension to consider his adolescent musings to be worthy of the name of literature, let alone of being printed as a Penguin Classic.

Wilde, it seems is not on Mr Morrisseys' side and in this work, his 'Dorian Gray', he unwittingly paints his own self-portrait as a sneering, ungrateful, contemptuous misanthrope, a borderline misogynist, and one of the worlds' crashing bores. A particularly unpleasant detail is the way he spitefully allows himself to libel the (he must presume) safely dead John Peel and Tony Wilson.

A travesty , a tragedy and a nasty piece of overweening narcissism.
1919 Comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Absolutely loved this book. It was pure, distilled Morrissey. I was a bit concerned that it would not be from his own thoughts, but it obviously is. Beautifully written and poetic at times. I didn't understand all of it, but that doesn't matter. There are also a lot of references that will take some time to look up. I will definitely be reading it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
Bought for girlfriend, very happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Given as a gift but also read myself from library.
Morrissey is not everyone's cup of tea, however the early life is an enjoyable read.
Sometimes while reading you wonder about the other side to the argument...
Sometimes you wonder many, many things about Morrissey...
This is not a book of answers but Morrissey wouldn't want that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Quite simply this is probably the best autobiography I have read. Whether you love or loath him, the writing is poetically put together and gives great insight into a the man. The gripeing over the court case does go on a bit, but quite frankly he has a valid point. Read enjoy and get a feel for Manchester in the 70s and band life in the 80s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)