Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2013
Brought this for my serve autistic son who must be there youngest greatest fan,he has everything KORN from the look on his face and the fact that this album has been on a loop since he got it,we know he loves it thank god for KORN ,.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
After suffering through many below par albums from one of my favorite bands. I was delighted to finally hear something that is fresh and exciting and also great to mosh too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
From start to finish incredible, I've been a fan since day one and this album is stunning. Heavy, melodic and just great!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
really good korn album, best one for a long time so good that they have head back, really really good
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Very solid effort that incorporates the experimental dubstep of the previous record more comfortably. The band sounds fantastic and it really puts Ray Luzier to the fore you don't expect a more complex drumming style to that of Silveria to suit KoRn but it really works well. Its definitely a grower so allow for a couple of play through's before passing judgment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
To understand the significance of this album you really have to look back at the bands 20 year history. Korn's debut album and the albeit rushed follow up Life Is Peachy are very much of the time, their sound at its most pure; a darkly tinged, funky take on garage rock. Their third release Follow the Leader was a massive commercial success and put them on the map. The two following albums Issues and Untouchables were more sober, serious efforts, refining the bands concept and sound respectively. Their next record Take A Look In The Mirror was a misguided, lackluster effort that ultimately led to the departure of their guitarist Brian 'Head' Welch. Their next four albums without Head have the band struggling to pick up the slack without him, dropping the pop infused See You On The Other Side, the cacophonous and bland Untitled, the attempt to go 'back to roots' with Korn III: Remember Who You Are, and the dubstep infused album The Path of Totality. Despite some good tracks and interesting experiments, these records haven't been up to snuff with the bands early work.

But here with The Paradigm Shift guitarist Head is back, and everything improves because of it. The sound is as full as its been since Untouchables. The eleven tracks on here are all great, they've clearly written a lot of songs and chosen the best to make it on the record, resulting in what is perhaps their most consistently good album to date. Its not a misguided attempt to recapture their early sound like Korn III was, instead they take on board some of the synth enhancements and catchy choruses of The Path of Totality and See You On The Other Side and bring it to light with the original twin-guitar lineup. Granted, the rhythm section isn't as groovy here as it was on their early albums, but for the first time pretty much since the 90s Korn seem reenergised and working together properly as a band to give an album that rocks from starts to finish and you can just put on and properly enjoy. Lets hope they can keep it up for the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
This disc offers the ultimate in heavy industrial rock music! This music is well suited for piping through you vampire home lounge pa system where neon uranium barware casts a beguiling phosphorescent glow against the psychedelic black lights. I can also hear this ringing through a secluded French Quarter vampire haunt as the fog rolls in at the wee hours past midnight. "Spike in My Veins" inspires me to pump up the B-12 and hit the road in my own tour bus! Oh the grandeur of life on the road! Great job guys!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Korn have long given up on what the critics think or what direction their fans think they should be heading in, even with the return of much missed original member Brian "Head" Welch Korn are continuing to experiment with new sounds in many ways showing that their last album the dup-step influenced "the Path Of Totality" was not a one off. Jonathan Davies has even go so far saying that the decision to release the first single "Never Never" which itself would not have sounded out of place on "The Path of Totality" was just to mess with people's heads.

"The Paradigm Shift" is Korns 11th studio album and the first one to feature founding member Brian Welch since 2003's "Take A Look In The Mirror", it features a mish mash of styles from the heavy pounding of "What We Do" to the death vocal driven "Love & Meth" which see Davis twist his vocal range from the straightforward approach to a death roar. Album opener "Prey For Me" at times sees Korn dip into their early signature sound with it being driven by Fieldys click slap bass. "Tell Me What You Want", "Punishment Time" and "Mass Hysteria" are tracks that all stand out.

Nearly twenty years on from their vital self-titled debut korn have come a long way and are in a position where if they try something new they will be criticised for not sounding like the old Korn, the same can be said if they go back and try their old sound they will accused of being stale. In many ways "The Paradigm Shift" is a slow burner of an album that takes a while to reveal its layers which in many ways is similar to 2002's now much loved masterpiece "Untouchables". So take the time to give it more than one listen.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I kind of went off koRn for a few years when Brian left, not because he left but because i also went off and did my own thing and became obsessed with neurofunk haha. Anyway i decided to let a few years go by and come back some other time because i wanst giving the band my ears like i should have. Again when Brian left i didnt care, i knew it wasnt just some little fit he was having or that he was just doing it because he didnt care anymore. What he had to do was a massive deal for everyone and if i was in his position i would not even think twice as to what to do. Kids are kids. you can get as messed up as you want but they dont have a choice as to how you behave. Im proud of what Brian did and very happy he is back with his band.

Anyway..rant over. This album really knocked me on my ass. I heard really good things about it but i wasnt sure if the fans were just happy that Brian was back or whatever. Every track on this record is immense, thick with beautiful music and loaded with old KoRn sounds. The old base is back, the two boys on left and right off tune guitars its just brilliantto hear a gain. Johns melodies are mind blowing just like his voice range, it really handed me my ass.

To be honest this is turning into my favourite KoRn album...being a fan since they started i am massivly proud of what they have done here. They make me be proud to be their fan, not that i ever wasnt. I feel they help the fans become part of the journey by explaining all the stuff that is going on insead of hiding it. it binds the fans to them more The way they got through all the crap and sorted it out was just so great. The music they made after they all came back together (I know David is gone for now but i like their new drummer Ray) is beyond entertaining. When i got this from CD to mp3 player i just put it on loop and listened to it over and over for hours playing dungeon keeper. almost every song on this gave me goose bumps espacially never never and punishment time. There is no song on this record that i dont love and that is extremely hard for any band to to for me. im a picky little bitch.

I didnt really pay much attention to the smalll little things in each song i just let it present itself to me and see what happens. i actually had to stop listening to it because my headphones where on my head too much and my ears were in bits.

This album is a reuniting, reconciliation and celebration of this amazing band. KoRn thank you for not being doosh muppets and for being so mature about the situation, letting your fans become closer by hearing the truth. You are amazing and i am so happy that you are not even close to ending your careers. if you keep coming out with music like this i hope you NEVER NEVER EVER stop producing music.

Put this album in your basket. its amazing and truely rewarding for all you loyle KoRn fans.
The bonus DVD answers a lot of questions and worth a watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
this korn album is far more refined than any other album they have released. what i mean by that, is that the guitars, riffs, and production have all come together to present a heavy dose of metal that does not sound raw to the likes of previous excellent albums that took the "raw" production approach (korn, life is peachy, take a look through mirror, III).

as usual with korn, every track has a great chorus and they always seem to be able to come up with excellent lyrics and choruses album after album - nothing ever repeats itself with this band. every track on here is great, and i cannot find a fault with one of them and like them all.

i did however have a hard time getting into the album on the first listen, probably because i was once again expecting a rocker of an album like follow the leader and that sort of clouded my judgement. after the first listen though, i was finding myself singing along to "Victimized" quite a lot, which drew me back to the album and then it just took off from there. Now i sing along to every track and i have found relation to all of the tracks rather than just 1.

this album is a return to metal - dubstep is gone. personally i thought path of totality was a load of s*** - because i don't like dubstep music. i would have never cared that Korn made it, i don't change my musical taste just because a band wants to get all "experimental". i was worried that this would also be dubstep because the first single Never Never had some in the last quarter of the song, but that is the ONLY bit in this album and even that bit is more techno than dubstep - so that's fine.

lastly, this album has no reason for a die hard, or even a simple korn fan to not love. it ticks all the boxes, and has no filler tracks that are crap. Every track is playable live, and for a band to make an album that is entirely playable live on stage - means it's a great album. People who don't like this album also generally never back up their reasons, and not liking it just because it is not a "Life is Peachy" or "Korn" is no excuse. Those albums came out nearly 2 decades ago - get over it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)