Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
407
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Kat’s father, also a NYPD Detective like herself, was killed some eighteen years ago. The convicted killer is now dying and she visits him one last time hoping to get the answers she needs. Why did he kill her father? But the answer she finally gets from him leaves her more confused and with more questions than ever. To get her mind off of it she logs onto an online dating service, a little present from her best friend Stacey who gave her a subscription for a year. Very soon she stumbles upon her ex-fiancée Jeff but it soon turns out he wants to leave the past in the past because his reaction is indifferent if nothing else. Soon after this brush off she gets a visit from a teenager who claims his mother has gone missing and maybe Jeff is involved in this. Nobody believes the young boy except Kat who starts looking into her disappearance. When she finally realizes what is going on, the question is, can she stop it before it is too late. Kat faces a race against time. There were multiple storylines running parallel throughout the book. Kat was searching for clues in her father’s murder. Jeff was a mystery on itself and then there was the missing persons case. The stories were weaved together with ease and brilliance and towards the ending I saw the story develop before my eyes like it was a movie. I really liked that he included a dog in the story too J. Conclusion: a great read and surely the beginning of a look through his other books.
If you liked reading my honest opinion, please give me a vote so I can get closer to the top reviewers. Thank you.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
As with his previous books, the style of writing is engaging; the momentum is consistent, and the over all story is expertly plotted. However, the gripe I have with Missing You, and with Harlan Coben's last few books, is that it feels he is using the same template over and over. There is a sense of familiarity and it's almost as if you've read the story before but with a different setting and a slight replacement of characters. The surprise endings are no longer surprising and are instead becoming more predictable. They don't quite have the impact they used to have.

The story itself was good with some complex plotting and cleverly thought out ideas; however, it was concluded averagely.

I'm an avid Coben fan, and I'll continue to buy his novels, however, I really hope he tries something new and mixes things up a little bit.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Harlan Coben is one of the most popular authors at the moment. However it took me a few chapters to get into it, but I persevered and it was worth it.
Kat Donovan is an NYPD officer.
She doesn't have such a great love life, so her friends register her an online dating site.
She finds one particular profile.
The photo makes her stop, and look,
It is Kat's ex-fiancé Jeff, the man who broke her heart 18 years ago. on the vulnerable.
Kat reaches out to Jeff, but finds herself drawn into a conspiracy and into a world where monsters lurk ready to prey on the most vulnerable in society.

Kat has to deal with an investigation and she questions her fathers death.
Kat has to got to answer these questions but this investigation draws her into a dark place, can she survive it?||

It took a few chapters to get into but I am glad I persevered.
I am still unsure about Kat as a main character, I wasn't totally convinced, and at times she got on my nerves, but once the story got going, it was ok
Not his best by any stretch of the imagination, but good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
I just don't know what has happened to Harlan Coben.

It used to be a real pleasure to pick up a new Coben book, but I have pretty much given up on him now. This book suffers from so many "bads" it is difficult to know where to start, but here goes anyway.

The characters are all cartoons - quickly sketched and unconvincing. Some are just clichés.
The main plot was OK, although a little well-worn, but the sub-plots were weak and the revelation at the end was just SO thin. It's like he had two plot ideas, neither of which could sustain a whole book, so he mashed them together, no matter how flimsy the seam between the two.
Excess verbiage - this thing of going out of the way to mention stuff that adds nothing to the book and merely serves to let Harlan let people know what his favourite foods are is just plain irritating.
Product placement - bad enough in films, do we HAVE to have it in books too? Who cares what Harlan's favourite pizza place is?

And there's more. The writing is just so POOR. He creates level-headed characters, but the number of times they have to panic to explain why they do something stupid. Now that is a literary convenience - longhand for being lazy. And how about this? "... Kat actually dropped to her knees and felt her entire body give out. She wanted to sink to the ground.....". Was there NO editing on this book? Could nobody at Orion tell him this is just BAD?

So that's it. This is finally the place where Harlan and I part company.

Goodbye.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Harlan Coben books deliver tight plots that are full of thrills and fun, in fast and light reading style that is deceptively easy to follow till he sends you tumbling into the next turn of events, the characters are perfect for the story and fit well with in this tale, this is entertainment and is entertaining without being melodramatic or unnecessarily violent, corny lines are exposed by other characters and soon you are just enjoying the yarn.
Kat is a detective whose father was murdered in the job, she likes drinking a bit too much, and is looking for a guy, her friend gives her and account in a dating service as a joke, she has a look and to her surprise finds the picture of an ex fiancée in the pages, she sends a message and nothing is what it was again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
I don't really know how to review this story. One one hand there was nothing wrong with it. A great detective plot with the required twists and turns to keep the reader interested and guessing to the end. The characters were interesting without a doubt and being based in New York the setting was as you would expect it to be exciting and full of life. Really all in all this book has everything you want from a novel even the writing was just how I like a book to be. The problem is; and if I'm to be honest I still don't know why it didn't really do it for me. Now I know most of you right will think this review as being a waste of time and you're probably right but strange enough that is what I feel about this book. It's very good but something's missing, I just can't put my finger on it, hence only four stars and not five.
However saying that, every other story about this author I've enjoyed and will I buy anymore of his books? Absolutely yes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2016
Harlan Coben is a superb thriller writer. I love his books and this one is even better than the rest. There's a great mix of decent, loving people, flawed cops, innocent victims and very nasty criminals. There a number of different strands in the story that somehow are connected to each other. Numerous twists, with one devastating twist (for the main character) on the last page. Yes, vintage Coben - this one is shocking and moving.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you want a page turner with twists to keep you engrossed for a few hours then you could do worse than Missing You. If you want reality or any kind of nod towards it then Missing You is not the book for you. I like the plots Mr Coben writes and they certainly hold your interest but I feel they are getting a bit samey - events from the past coming back to haunt the present mixed with Internet skullduggery and new/false identities.
In Missing You Kat Donovan finds her old love Jeff, under a new name, on a dating site and tries to contact him. At the same time Brendan Phelps contacts her to help find his mum who has disappeared whilst on holiday with Jeff. There is a subplot of Kat looking for her father's killer as she doesn't believe that the man who confessed did it. It's pure hokum but well enough written to let me suspend my disbelief and keep reading to see what was coming next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Coben is back to form with this thriller. Yes- it follows his staple of someone going missing and a plot leading to dark secrets from the past. This time we also get a current thriller where someone is using online dating sites for criminal activity. The two plots converge well and the tension is high. It really is a page turner and I finished the book in a few sittings. Recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
As most people who have read the book and written a review in the few days since this came out on kindle, I am a bit of a Harlan Coban fan. Although this has similar themes to many of his other books ( lost loves, the past), this one really didn't work and on a variety of levels. I felt that the main character was a little dense, a whiner and not a desperately attractive character. The plot has been done before (although not exactly this way, in a similar enough vein to be familiar) and
the ending was a little absurd. Not only that but it didn't really fit and made me wonder if the author had become tired of the story too? Is this a revamped first novel? Any book that uses the term 'baited breath' or 'getting into the sackola' is instantly suspect.
If you're new to Harlan's books try The Woods or Tell No one. If you're a Harlan fan then you're probably going to buy it anyway but at least you've been warned!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Need customer service? Click here