Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
65
4.4 out of 5 stars
Watercolour Tips (Collins Gem)
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


on 7 September 2014
I loved this handy little book; as a new watercolour artist I have lots to learn, and Ian presents techniques, advice, and tips in an easily understood style. Added to this are examples of his work which further illustrate the advice given. An enjoyable read and useful guide for practicing techniques and to keep close at hand for reference when working on a painting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
Excellent followed the instructions and product not a bad effort. good size
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
Lovely little book for an art student , good packaging , prompt deliver thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
This little book punches way above its weight. I have gained far more instruction from this pocket-sized volume, than I have from much larger books.
I gained a much-needed systematic approach to creating a painting, breaking the picture down to seven-steps. The use of transparent, and opaque colours is discussed; something I've never come across before. This helped me to easily gain the depth that was lacking in my attempts before.
As to the size of the book; useful for taking anywhere, but the illustrations inevitably lack the impact of larger ones.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2007
If you are new to watercolour painting then this book is for you. As soon as you open it, a quick flick through reveals many very basic techniques and some more advanced ones. It is lavishly and clearly illustrated throughout and does not appear to over complicate explanations, ergo it is good for quick referencing (a clear contents list at the beginning enhances this fact as well).
The book itself is also pocket size and is ideal for taking on fieldtrips.

Conclusion: An essential, 'have-to-hand' book for any new to enthusiastic amateur painter and an excellent stocking filler.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Just started watercolour class..after 50 years without picking up a brush! This small book is indispensable.It
tucks away in yr pocket or art case, great for tips, refreshing your ideas or simply reference!
I had it downloaded on my Kindle,so impressed that I bought the physical copy! Whether a beginner or a seasoned artist, I feel this book will be a useful buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
A simple little book packed with useful know how! this and its companion
10 minute Watercolours should be among the first books you buy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
Good useful little book, with lots of useful tips for beginners. Found it good to buy appropriate brushes and other materials.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
This is for my 13 year old granddaughter. The book is very small, but full of excellent advice, & useful for popping into a pocket.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Book was absolutely tiny which made it difficult to read. Contents weren't that helpful either. Nothing really stood out as helpful tips for painting watercolour
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)