Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
66
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
We've been waiting impatiently for the second Connor Reeves book and we were not disappointed. Again, the charm of the teenage 'buddyguard' concept was powerful and between the stroppy privileged clients and the scary Somali pirates there was plenty of drama and excitement to be experienced. Just enough technical detail to be informative and credible, and plenty of plot to keep the hero busy. It had to be read in one sitting - definitely a page turner and one I will be recommending to teen readers at my school. Looking forward to episode 3!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Connor continues his adventures - at sea this time. Chris has produced a fantastic book - a terrific story, backed up with superb description and detail and true nautical knowledge. I found it difficult to put the book down - so many twists and turns. I know of one reluctant reader whose reading has been transformed by Chris's earlier books, and I have no doubt that "Ransom" will encourage him even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Overall this book is very good. It is action packed and a great read. Parts get a bit dull however if you carry on you will be rewarded with a great ending. Always has a last gasp turn and Connor is never safe.
This book is 4/5 pushing 5/5. The only reason I didn't give a 5/5 was that it got a bit boring. But I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
As always, Chris Bradford provides a brilliantly entertaining read with a really interesting set of real life strategies to survival woven in. However, I feel at times like he loses potential by not choosing to appeal to an older/more mature audience. Overall though, these are a great set of novels and well worth a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
It is fun to read but could use some polishing - some details really scratch the eye. For example AK-47 is in one place called machine gun, while in other places (correctly) assault rifle (there is light machine gun based on AK-47, its called RPK). In other place character is twisting the throttle of jet ski, but most (if not all, i am not expert) have so called finger throttles - you dont twist them. Some details about bodyguard training, fight scenes, equipment etc are also not very realistic (waterproof Sony smartphones anyone? Why bulky "special" covers when waterproofing in reality is simply better sealing between parts?). But then maybe i am too demanding - it is childrens book after all. And the fact that i as adult am reading it, is sign that it is very captivating for (at least some) adults as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This is a great book; I would recommend it to any one of any age or gender. It is a definite buy, which keeps your heart pumping all the way through! I absolutely loved it, and I'm sure you would too. :)😍

Just upset that I have to wait so long until the next book!!!😥
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
Came within days of ordering already had this on kindle but attempting to get one of the children interested in reading plus the quality / condition of the book was excellant as if I had just bought it off the shelf . Will defiantly try to use this seller again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Love Chris Bradford, even though I'm a grown up. I have met this chap and he is so passionate about the subjects he writes about that he often takes on the role in order to better research is material. Read hostage first. Great easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Best book to get if you enjoyed the first one. Pirates, guns the urge to run away but no where is safe especially in an ocean. In think the next book released in 2015 is TOO long although cannot be happier there is going to be a new one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
in most parts it was action filled and gripping but some parts just aren't needed. I would recommend this series and the Young Samurai series to anyone who likes action novels with lots of fighting and guns and bombs, all that stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse