Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2012
This is a review of the 2009 Repertoire Records reissue, not the original LP. Great songs and performances marred by mastering. This 2009 remaster sounds like it's coming out of a tin can. Muddy and muffled. A real shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
I had put off buying this cd, to replace the much-loved mono LP I had played to hiss-crackle death since 1966, because of Kjell Nordstromm's review. With trepidation, I listened for the echo he said had been added to the vocals and thought "Oh dear, he is right". After a few more listens, all I noticed was how wonderful this album is; the Animals (especially Eric Burdon) absolutely on top of their form.

Most people (not just those who have been fans of the Animals since the 60s and who, therefore, are now middle-aged, with middle-aged hearing) are too cloth-eared to notice production differences.

Just buy it, just play it. You won't be sorry.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
This review concerns the sound quality. I read the reviews on Amazon.com before deciding to buy this version of Animalisms 2009. Having bought Animalism 2006 [Original recording remastered][Original recording reissued] a few weeks ago.I can say for certain the difference is huge, as both albums have a track called "'outcast", I used as my benchmark.I found my self being totally disappointed after the excellent remastering of Animalism witch I bought through Amazon.com. How any label can put out such a low quality mastering in this day and age is beyond me. Being Repertoire makes it more so!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

The Animals is the rock band formed in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England, as the Alan Price Combo. It consisted of Eric Burdon (vocals), Alan Price (keyboards), Bryan Chandler (bass), Hilton Valentine (guitar) and John Steel (drums). Price left in May 1965, replaced by Dave Rowberry. Chandler pursued a management career and discovered Jimi Hendrix in 1966. Steel left in 1966, replaced by Barry Jenkins. The group disbanded in July 1968. After a period with War, Burdon and the other originals reunited in 1976 and again 1983.

The early album releases by the Animals were extremely confusing, because there are separate album releases in US vs UK, with similar names but different tracks:

In UK, the album releases are as follows:
1. THE ANIMALS (Columbia 1669)(UK 6/1964)
2. ANIMAL TRACKS (Columbia 1708)(UK 6/1965)
3. EP (Decca 8643)(1966)
4. ANIMALISMS (Decca 4797)(UK 4/1966)

In US, there are five album releases:
1. THE ANIMALS (MGM 4264)(US 7/1964)
2. THE ANIMALS ON TOUR (MGM 4281)(US 99/1965)
3. ANIMAL TRACKS (MGM 4305)(US 57/1965)
4. ANIMALIZATION (MGM 4384)(US 20/1966)
5. ANIMALISM (MGM 4414)(US 33/1966)*rare

The Animals LP have different tracks for US and UK releases. The same also applies to Animal Tracks too. Please also note that Animalism (without s) in US also has different tracks when compared with Animalisms (with s) in UK. In other words they are completely different albums. To add more confusion, The Animals On Tour is not a live album.

CONTENT:

Repertoire Records is a well respected re-issue label from Germany, with many great releases on albums from 60s and 70s. In this case, there are 25 songs.

POSITIVE POINTS:

1. The entire Animalisms album from UK is included. This is the first album release after the Animals left Columbia.
2. The Bonus tracks include the entire Animalization album (US release) except one track (She’ll Return It).
3. The rare first Decca EP consisting of 4 songs, three of which are not found in any album: I Just Wanna Make Love To You, Big Boss Man and Pretty Thing. Boom Boom was also found The Animals album.
4. There are special stereo versions of Don’t Bring Me Down, See Rider, Help Me Girl and Cheating.
5. The sound is very well remastered with no hiss.
6. There is an excellent 12-page booklet with great essay.

NEGATIVE POINT:

1. The track She’ll Return It should be included. This track can be found in the Story Of The Animals CDs.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Repertoire Records has done an excellent job in bringing us two rare Animals albums (Animalisms and Animalization) plus rare 4-track EP with 4 fantastic sounding stereo versions. The other main sources of the above album tracks from both US and UK are The Complete Animals, The Story Of The Animals, Animals Singles Plus and Best Of The Animals. Do not buy the more recent box set release of The Animals: Mickie Most Years, when the first 4 US albums plus EP, are included, plus a lousy cheap T-shirt. The price is very expensive! Even though the sound is good, I feel this is still a rip-off. Most important of all, the rarest album listed above (Animalism)(with s, from US) was NOT included in the box set. Hopefully, some day, that rare album is released domestically. After 1966, Eric Burdon and the Animals set up on another era. Those albums, like Wind Of Change, etc., are not cheap. Anyway, if you like the Animals, this current set with 25 songs, is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I read the negative reviews about the sound of this particular disc and bought it anyway.
I remember listening to this original LP on a cheap fold down turntable with two tinny little speakers on the sides of it and absolutely loving it.
I reckon this is better.
Great group, great album (even without the fantastic Alan Price on board!)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2004
Animalisms is one of the really great albums of the sixties and was long overdue beeing released in cd format.
That's why it's such a pity that the otherwise excellent Repertoire label made such a mess of it. The sound, and I compare it back to back with the original version, is eq'd so it sounds like it was recorded in some bathroom plus that extra echo was added to the vocals. Perhaps the earlier cd release on Sequal records was better but I havn't succeded in getting a copy. So - beeing warned, get an original vinyl and besides the extra tracks can be found on other cds that has not been "improved" by some confused "engineer".
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
I would concur withe the other 2 star reviewers, the boomy, echoing sound is awful. It wears you down so that you are reluctant to play it again. Sounds like it is being played on a very cheap 1960's single speaker record player. Hi Fi equipment not needed for this one as the lack of bass frequencies in old mono equipment might make it sound less boom heavy and not so headache inducing. Very disappointed with this CD, thank goodness it was only cheap. The CD set "The Animals Complete" is far superior and enjoyable for sound quality alone as well as the excellent tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
'Animalisms' was the third UK album by the Animals, originally released by Decca in 1966. This edition on the German repertoire label boosts the original album with 13 further tracks drawn from Decca singles and an EP of early recordings released by Decca without the bands permission and hastily withdrawn. 1966 was a landmark year in rock music, in just a few months there were seminal releases such as 'Revolver', 'Aftermath', 'Pet Sounds' and 'Blonde On Blonde'. Judged against these milestones, 'Animalisms' comes up well short, however, judged on it's own terms it's a hugely enjoyable slice of blues rock and contains some of the best vocals Eric Burdon ever committed to tape. Sadly, the band were unable to keep up with the rapidly changing times and splintered shortly afterwards.
So why only 2 stars? Well, as I've said the music is great, if hardly revolutionary, and probably deserves 3 and a half to 4 stars, but the sound quality of this remaster is awful and makes it pretty tough listening! 'Animalisms' was never released in stereo in the UK, quite unusual by 1966, but my old battered vinyl copy sounds far superior to this, the vocals are very muddy and most of the instruments are reduced to a tinny clatter. This only applies to the original album, the bonus tracks are fine. I can only assume that repertoire have used a very poor quality source tape for the album tracks. Although long out of print, the Sequel label released a far superior sounding collection of the Animals Decca output several years ago, the only real benefit of this version is it includes the original (front cover) artwork.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Well, I do not know how anyone could be disappointed with this wonderful CD. I was around in the 60's - but I have only just recently discovered this gem of an album. If you are an Animals fan - BUY IT!. My favourite track is the opener (One Monkey Don't Stop No Show), but there are loads of great songs on the Album, which are brilliantly performed with inspiring arrangements. I also have no problems with the sound quality of the album (I was nearly put off buying the album because two previous reviewers have sited the sound quality as being poor - I can only think that they must have been supplied with faulty CD's). I have now had this album for about two months, and have played it almost constantly - it is without doubt the best album that I have purchased for years - I only wish there were more gems like it.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Their music is one of the most important spices of all collections throughout the world...the most important link...all is told about them long ago...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)