Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Alice Cooper Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
183
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2014
The original camera negative of DEAD OF NIGHT perished in a fire 60 years ago and so available prints have been very poor over the years. The restoration here is therefore all the more remarkable and the picture quality is outstanding compared to previous releases. The only negative is the very poor sound quality which frankly renders some dialogue inaudible. My old videotape recorded from TV 20 years ago is much better so I can't understand why this has happened. Possibly the soundtrack has deteriorated even more than the image? The film is a classic and a must-see for anyone interested in the genre. It is the finest 'ghost story' omibus on celluloid.
1010 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Finally DEAD OF NIGHT, which is one of the greatest of all supernatural films, is available in a transfer that does this benchmark film justice. I hesitate to call it a horror film as only two segments out of five would qualify. The rest of the movie features stories that alternate between the fantastic and the comic with a chilling central framing device that holds it all together. This genre known as a portmanteau or anthology film had its origins in German silent cinema with the 1924 expressionistic classic WAXWORKS which is set in a modern day wax museum and tells the stories behind different figures there. Here the year is 1945 and the setting is an English country house where five people are gathered together and then a sixth shows up and relates a bizarre dream involving all of them. That's the framing story. Several of the members then relate a story of something strange that happened to them hoping to persuade one of the guests, a skeptical psychiatrist, that dreams can be prophetic and that uncanny things do happen.

The first story involves a hospital patient who sees an antique hearse with the driver saying "room for one more". Then there's a ghost story set during a Christmas party. The third sequence about a haunted mirror has been copied many times most notably in the 1974 Amicus anthology FROM BEYOND THE GRAVE. The fourth is a comic tale about two golfers featuring characters from Hitchcock's THE LADY VANISHES. The last, and most famous sequence, involves Michael Redgrave as a ventriloquist losing his grip on reality which was basically remade as MAGIC with Anthony Hopkins many years later. The movie concludes when it turns out to be a dream that is about to come true. For years DEAD OF NIGHT was only available in prints of varying visual quality but with an adequate soundtrack only. Now this new DVD (there's a Blu-ray also) gives us the best sounding soundtrack ever along with top-notch picture quality. The best transfer yet is the least that this classic British supernatural omnibus deserves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
I first saw this film in the late 1960's , I was just a kid at the time and it scared the hell out of me, it has to be the most creepiest film I have ever seen.The memory of this film stuck with me my whole life but I could not remember what it was called, so I googled what I remembered about the film (the mirror with a reflection of another room and the dummy that is alive) and it came up with dead of night, so I ordered it from amazon ,I have the original release not the special edition, some peopled have moaned about the sound quality but I don't find it to bad considering its 70 years old. This film is a classic so buy and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
An architect is called to renovate an old country house. Upon arriving he meets a group of people who seem strangely familiar to him. They each have a supernatural tale to tell. He has a strange feeling he has experienced all this before and he has a feeling that something awful is about to happen.... This is a horror movie that is very scary. The tale with the mad ventriloquist is my favorite. I recommend this to all horror movie fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
An architect is assigned to renovate a country estate. When he arrives, he meets a group of guests. He is certain that he has seen them before, as characters of his dream/nightmare. They all have a supernatural tale to tell and it is not long until something very bad happens.... This is a very good chiller. My favorite is the story about the mad ventriloquist. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
This has to be one of my fav horror and i was so happy to see it on DVD i hav'nt seen it for years.As anybody who has'nt seen it before i would have wanted to know the zest of the story.It has to be one of the best films to come out of ealing studios and still scares me today that pretty good for a film that so old.I love this film because it has 5 story all about each charter in the film and this was way before amicus that are classics too.Hope other people have as much enjoyment out of this film as i did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Old Ealing studios Collection of Shorts wrapped up in 1 film. Quite enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Great film but a bit overlong....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Another classic from the 1940's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2017
excellent film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)