Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 December 2013
Okay, so you've heard the album, so what does the collector's edition offer over the standard album? First off, the package is in a really nice box, which has tectured interior. There arevtgen 6 inserts: 1 - The Next Day album, 2 - the extra tracks (really good), 3 - DVD of 4 videos, 4 - lyrics booklet, 5 - booklet of photos, 6 - a blank booklet entitled "You". Wonderful presentation of the album. Buy it!!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2017
I have read all the reviews for this collectors set,pretty good some of them,the poor ones are nonsense.I did not buy the original CD as I felt the first single where are we now was lacking somewhat.This was a mistake as this set is brilliant,it just took me a few years to realise it.
Really listen to all of the tracks as you will discover snippets of other Bowie songs hidden in the detail of the mix,so very clever and cunning,pure genius.
Now the extras and indeed the box it self is simply stunning,a little frustrating with the lyrics split mid sentence across pages but that was added to mess with your head.The you book appears to be blank but I bet it's more than just as message to state you can fill in your pages such is your life,I bet there is a hidden secret and you have to use an ultra violet light or lemon juice to reveal the message.
Overall this is my best Purchase for a long time and can't stop playing both CD,s.......play it loads and loud and rock to you explode...Thank you DB.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2016
Awesome !!! What a box of delights inside this little plain white box. Press buy it now because if it sells out it will be on Greed bay for who knows what price ! The main cd has 14 tracks everyone is good . It is quite rocky with lots of guitars, but also seems to represent a bit of all the different era,s. Then you get the bonus disc with another 10 tracks on. Yet again all great. There is also a dvd with four video's I haven't watched them yet. There is a lyric book and a little note book. All lovely quality. I am so pleased I got it. If you don't own it and are a Bowie fan don't hesitate, buy it before it ends up like the other Box set only available at ridiculous prices.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2016
The first single put me off investigating The Next Day on first release as it seemed rather too mellow/dreary for my tastes. I thought age had finally caught up with Bowie and he'd moved over to the easy-listening end of the musical spectrum. I was wrong.
Where Are We Now is NOT representative of the album as a whole: The Next Day album is Davey back on top with fabulous songwriting to rival his seventies classics and interesting/energetic arrangements to kill for.
As for the bonus CD, I love it. Does feel a little 'out-takey' - which it is, I guess - but there are at least two tracks (Born In A UFO, I'll Take You There) that could have been included on the original release and worked well. The two remixes are interesting and enjoyable but don't eclipse the originals in my opinion, and the remaining ones are all excellent in terms of songwriting, performance and production.
The DVD of four music videos, despite being 'Made in EU' is NTSC format (rather than PAL which is the UK video format). This might explain the substantially reduced sound quality when playing on a new but inexpensive Panasonic blu ray player, HDMI-ed to TV with optical audio connection from TV to amp. Disappointing, but the videos were not the reason I bought this set so no stars dropped.
If you love classic Bowie this is a real treat. And I paid less than six quid! Bargain of the year so far...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2013
So soon after the last special edition? Never mind, even if you bought the last one you need to upgrade! All the bonus tracks from the special edition are here, plus five more tracks that no self-respecting Bowie fan should live without. There are two remixes: Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix By James Murphy For The DFA) starts off like Steve Reich's "Clapping" and incorporates elements of "Ashes To Ashes" to luxuriant effect over it's epic 10 minutes. I'd Rather Be High (Venetian Mix) is less ambitious and merely incorporates a harpsichord into it's arrangement, who knows why? Never mind, you get all the promo videos on the DVD too which are for the most part up to Bowie's usual theatrical standard, artistic, disturbing and magnificent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2018
A fab version of a great late Bowie album. A really nice box set package. Lyric book, image book (with images from/based on the videos that are on the dvd. The artwork concept of the box set is in keeping and a nice addition to the original cd release. Nice to have the vids as well as the extra tracks. Worth buying if you are a hardcore Bowie fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2016
I bought this when it was originally released in regular format. Raved about it at the time. I bought this when David died for the extras. It was not much dearer than the original CD to be fair. Pleased with both copies. Sad times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2016
Wasn't sure what to expect after an age out of the limelight for the man. I needn't have worried. This is an exceptional work. David Bowie has dived into his past and pulled out his future. You'll curse yourself if you don't buy the special edition with the extra tracks. All the classic Bowie elements are there soulful, lyrical, great phrasing, edgy and vital. He hasn't died, he's just passed into another universe and is rocking the pants off it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2018
Great presentation, more "deluxe versions" should be put together like this little box set. You end up with the full album + The Next Day Extra EP. The EP includes the 3 bonus tracks from the expanded version of the album, so with this purchase you're really all set, TND-wise. The booklet which is entirely blank except for "You" printed on the cover made me chuckle - who's going to write on their David Bowie box set?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
Adding to the amazing Come Back album by Bowie - The Next Day, this deluxe "collectors" edition is a must. It includes a host of remixes including the essential "I'd Rather be High: Venetian Mix" and "Love is Lost: Steve Reich Mix" which are brilliant tracks (available on vinyl singles). This release also has videos of some of the tracks all wrapped up in a smart box. The styling on the box is awesome and minimalistic and copies the Heroes blanked out image of the album.

Basically if you like Bowie you will LOVE this - go buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)