Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2014
This Blu - ray Disc - New Year's Concert: 2014 - surprised me more than the previous, which I still find excellent too. But the conducting of Maestro Daniel Barenboim in Philarmonica Vienna makes musical themes chosen to gain more brightness, dynamic, more impact , but at the same time smoothness on the most romantic themes. An example of dynamic, brightness and impact I can quote the "Egypticher Marsch - op. 335", when all the musicians have an interesting vocal participation, greatly enriching the music performed. I thought I had seen everything about the picture quality in Blu-ray Disc, but this " New Year's Concertd 2014," the beauty and depth of the image is beyond anything I expected of a good BD, it seems like it I was watching all on a TV 4K ... in my Plasma 65VT50b. The sound quality of the orchestra is also excellent, very well laid out and with great orchestral power (but with a lower recording volume than 2009). It would be great if Daniel Barenboim returned to conduct more times New Year's performances in the future. I suggest everyone to watch the 3 bonus that are included in this exceptional BD, an extra surprise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I buy this every year & must admit this year`s was fantastic. Daniel & the Vienna Philharmonic were excellent. Choice of music was great & the dancing superb. The New Year`s concert is always good but this year was the best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
If you like the New Years Day concert this well worth buying as the BBC only ever show the second half on 1st January.

The blue ray includes all the dance sequences (not normally show on TV) and well addition information and interviews.

Well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Great concert -- I'd give that five stars without hesitation. But the DVD has a quality problem: a pronounced shimmering effect, mainly in long shots of the concert hall, but sometimes in closeups of the orchestra, which I found distracting. (Sound is OK.) I'm pretty sure it's not down to my equipment, especially as one reviewer on Amazon's German site has reported the same problem. The disk's going back to Amazon; if the replacement's any better I'll note it here.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
New Year's blu-ray is pre-order. It's ok. But why only region code1/A ? I don't understand in UK Amazon.
Format: Classical, Widescreen
Language: English
Region: Region A/1 (Read more about DVD/Blu-ray formats.)
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.77:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: Exempt
Studio: Masterworks
DVD Release Date: 4 Feb 2014
44 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Conducting entirely from memory, noted conductor Daniel Barenboim leads the Wiener Philharmoniker in these spirited performances of familiar and lesser known works from the Strauss family (Johann Strauss, Johann Strauss, Jr., Josef Strauss, Eduard Strauss), Richard Strauss, Leo Delibes, Josef Hellmesberger, Jr. and Joseph Lanner (who created the waltz along with Johann Strauss, senior). Among the highlights are a truly memorable performance of Johann Strauss, Jr.'s "Tales from the Vienna Woods" waltz and Josef Strauss's "Olive Branch" and "Dynamiden" waltzes, which aren't nearly as well known as Johann's waltzes. The concert concludes with Johann Strauss, Jr.'s "Blue Danube" waltz with members of the Vienna State Ballet performing, and Johann Strauss' Radetzky March, with Barenboim instituting what may be a new New Year's Concert tradition. As for the orchestra itself, much of the orchestra seems to be composed of younger musicians, either those who have recently joined as members or are substitutes, but their level of playing is still exemplary. For fans of the Wiener Philharmoniker and the Strauss Family's music, then this is indeed a most essential DVD.

Program (Courtesy of the Wiener Philharmoniker's English language website)

Eduard Strauss
Helena Quadrille, op. 14

Josef Strauss
Olive Branch Waltz, op. 207

Johann Strauss, sen.
Caroline Gallop, op. 21

Johann Strauss, Jr.
Egyptian March, op. 335
Seid umschlungen, Millionen. Walzer, op. 443
Tempestuous in Love and Dance, Fast Polka, op. 393

Pause --

Johann Strauss, Jr.
Overture to the Operetta "Waldmeister"
Klipp-Klapp, Gallop, op. 466
Tales from the Vienna Woods, Waltz, op. 325

Josef Hellmesberger, Jr.
Vielliebchen, Polka française, op. 1

Josef Strauss
Bouquet Polka, Fast Polka, op. 188

Richard Strauss
Moonlight Music from the Opera "Capriccio"

Joseph Lanner
The Romantics, Waltz, op. 167

Josef Strauss
Teasing, Polka mazur, op. 262
Shenanigans, Fast Polka, op. 98

Leo Delibes
Variation dansée (Pizzicati) from the Ballet "Sylvia"

Josef Strauss
Dynamiden, Waltz, op. 173
Without a Care, Fast Polka, op. 271

Encores (immediately after Josef Strauss's Without a Care):
Johann Strauss Jr.
An der schönen blauen Donau, Waltz op. 314

Johann Strauss, sen.
Radetzky March, op. 228
55 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
These annual releases are always top notch, but perhaps if they spent a little more time on the editing they could make them much better in the flow, instead of rushing them out. Programme and Sound ravishing. Picture could be more sharp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Great to relive the New Year Concert in all its glory and great performance. Great music and great camera work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I bought this as a gift and when she opened it she was delighted. After watching it she was even more thrilled.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Technically and emotionally a great experience,
From all directions the best I have ever heard or see.
I highly commend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)