Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
27
Measures of Absolution (Frontlines)
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.29


on 23 August 2014
Tries to answer one of the biggest questions that remained following Terms of Enlistment: how and why were the welfare rats in the Detroit PRC so well trained and armed?

Unfortunately, this novella doesn't answer that question fully and ends abruptly. Reads more like the start of a new novel than a standalone novella. Also needs proofreading as there are numerous spelling & grammar mistakes and changes between first & third person during the text which is jarring.

I gave it three stars because I liked the characters and the story despite the shortcomings listed above.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2015
I have enjoyed this series and am waiting with interest for the next one. Storyline is good, plenty of cliffhanger moments and actually very good characterisation - although the speed with which lethal ends grab the minor characters doesn't leave a lot of time for anyone other than the handful of major characters to develop. There are a lot of terrible space/military operas around, but this is certainly in the upper echelons. Don't expect deep moral questions to be addressed - but I don't think that's what this series is about! It's good fun, a good read, and worth the price. Thanks Marko.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2016
As usual this book was very enjoyable to read, except in the very vivid thoughts of a world where millions of people are effectively kept in cities provided with a subsistence level of food and left to get on with it. This is the type of future I see for the world when huge conglomerates only think of profit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2015
Kloos really should wait and publish these as a book of short stories, however, this one is still good. There’s an awful lot of mindless violence, and you have to wonder what regime these people are keeping at bay that would be worse than the situation that the populous and soldiers have to endure, but hey, it’s readable and currently I’m itching for his new book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
Bit short but I really enjoyed it - has taken me on to read the others in the series. Characterisation is excellent. I particularly liked that everything isn't explained up front but not in an annoying way. You relish the prospect of future revelations. Overall a gripping read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2014
I really quite like Marko Kloo's stories in this world he has created, although it's an awful place and time. by all accounts. Currently reading Lines of Departure which nicely expands this world beyond the horrors of his overpopulated Earth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2017
good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2015
Love Marko Kloos stories, this was short but added to the world he's has created in his frontlines series, worth the money unlike some short kindle stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2014
Love the front line series but this went off rails near the end. Turned into Judge Dread clone then terminated far too quickly with no real resolution. Having moaned about the inferior plot and ending, the writing, pacing and development of the front lines universe made it a rewarding read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2014
Again a very good read tying in very well even if somewhat obliquely with his first book Terms of Enlistment. The only downside that I could find is its length as I'd just started really enjoying it and suddenly it was over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse