Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
This is a great idea to help aspiring authors reach a bigger audience - a collection of their short stories rolled into one short book. It gives the reader an opportunity to discover new authors. Within this collection there were stories that I really enjoyed, so I'll be looking into books by those writers. Unfortunately, I also felt there were a few duds, however this is probably just my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
None of the stories are bad. Some of them are indeed exception, but others are... bland. You know that they were supposed to be scary, but fell short. A couple, in truth reminded me of lazy creative writing projects.
But, for the good stories it is worth skimming through the bad.
After all, I may be talking twaddle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
As always, some good, some not so good and one or two that didn't make it past the first page. On the whole though, a reasonably decent compilation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
cant believe this was free its a brilliant quick horror read, i really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
A wonderfully delightful collection of hauntingly good short stories. With each author comes a unique writing style which adds to the mystery of the book, you don't know what to expect in the next. The Halloween collection will no doubt have you checking for monsters under your bed and wondering if those nightmares are real or not. Congratulations to all the authors on an excellent collection. I am looking forward to the the Christmas collaberation.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
What a treat to have works by all these authors in one book - and at such a bargain price! I have read many of these indie writers before like Peter John (Dead Medium), William O'Brien (Peter, Enchantment and Stardust - The Poems (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale)), Sonya Dodd (Echo of a Siren -- a sequel to Siren Call), Sheryl Seal (Beyond Oria Falls (Dwellers of Ahwahnee)), Alan Hardy (Gabriella) and D C Rogers (Free Spirit: Heart and Soul). Every one of them is a unique and interesting voice and the short stories presented here are original works commissioned for this anthology. It was great to come across some of these names again, with one or two of them trying on this genre for size for the first time - and with terrific results. I also enjoyed discovering some new names. Really there is so much bang here for your buck. Recommended. The book blurb says this is by 'The Indie Collaboration' - let's hope there are some winners like this in the pipeline!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Tales From Dark Places couldn't have been better presented, some great authors having come together to write this chilling, blood-curdling collection! If you haven't read any of these exciting authors, then this book is a must-have, but BEWARE! Because after reading this, life may not remain the same for you!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Tales from Dark Places is a delightfully creepy collection of short stories written by a bunch of authors I was already a fan of. To have them collaborating like this is a lot of fun and also a great way of spreading their names. There's a little bit of everything in this Halloween short story collection, so be prepared for some spine-tingling fun! Highly recommended!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Some ok stories, some truly bad ones, no memorable ones. I feel that English might not be a first language for some of the writers.
A suicidal woman has her ghost lover sitting under a canape. The first story was ok, a blatant King rip off, and the last was even worst than the haunted cocktail hour snack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Charlie Featherwick by William O'Brien is a well written chilling story. William writes with lots of imagination in this shory story. It is definitely for anyone who likes tales from dark places.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse