Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,532
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.34
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2014
Brilliant, I was totally wrapped up in this book,to such an extent that whilst reading it, my mobile phone rang and I almost jumped out of my skin. It's a good thing that I was reading in bed because my Kindle went flying up in the air as I screamed. No harm done as the Kindle landed on the bed.This is a very tense story which I really enjoyed, didn't want to put it down. Excellent !!!
11 comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Thrillers are my favourite genre, and this was one of the best I've read. Fast but not too fast, gripping, just the right amount of characters, just the right amount of tension - a proper ' race against time to catch a psychopath' tale, and I can't wait till the next in the series comes out - for a introduction to a new character , this was just great. Read it in three days, says it all.
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I normally read true crime _ this book has converted me back to reading fiction _ what a great film this would make. I defy anyone not to love this book
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not much point in writing at length when there have already been 1,359 reviews of this book!

Quick summary : Former FBI profiler Jefferson Winter is temporarily recruited by Scotland Yard to help them find the person/people responsible for a series of abductions of women. Four have been released with permanent brain damage and a fifth has just gone missing.

James Carol, the author, was born in Scotland and lives in England. I mention this because the leading character in the novel is American but almost everything about him seems British. His language and verbal mannerisms very rarely give the reader the impression that this is an American in London; there's the (very) occasional use of such words as 'candy' or 'cellphone' but these may actually be the only two in the tale. Non-American crime writers such as R J Ellory, Lee Child and John Connolly have consistently done a far better job of convincing readers that their lead characters are from the USA.

As for Broken Dolls, I am astonished and actually saddened that 1,266 people have said that they either love it or like it. It's not BAD, but it's so ordinary in every way that I can only wonder why people are so easily satisfied these days. The main man Jefferson Winter is utterly forgettable, and nothing he does lives up to the hype on the back cover that implies his IQ is not far off that of Da Vinci (which was over 200 apparently). His background suggests readers should expect an interesting and conflicted personality (his father having been a serial killer), but there's really nothing to either like or dislike. He's just a completely unremarkable person who I would have thought most readers will find difficult to engage with. And he's the only character worthy of a mention really; his sidekicks DI Mark Hatcher and DS Sophie Templeton are little more than cardboard cut-outs whose every word is built around Winter's supposedly overpowering personality - they make Scotland Yard look like a bunch of amateurs. The bad guy is ill-defined and a mish-mash of at least a dozen psychopaths from film and fiction over the past fifty years, indeed I was thinking of the film Psycho at least 100 pages before the author had the good grace to mention it himself.

Do not be mis-led by the huge number of positive votes. This is not a very good story at all, the characters are plain vanilla and the writing style has no style at all. I have another book by the same author - "Watch Me" - and I have a feeling this will be collecting dust on my 'to-be-read' shelf for a good while yet.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
This is detective fiction served with a liberal helping of torture porn. You either like this or you don't. It moves along at a good pace and the characters are interesting, if far-fetched (the Barbie-lookalike female cop is straight out of a video game). Generally, I think this book might appeal more to guys than gals.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This book just flows seamlessly and keeps you hooked. I've found another hero in Jefferson Winter...Alex Cross and Jack Reacher would love to be his friend :)... bring on the next book.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 January 2014
Jefferson Winter spent eleven years with the FBI, the last three as chief profiler. A rising star with an unorthodox approach to solving cases that upset his superiors, he left to do freelance consultancy work on a global basis, helping law enforcement agencies with serial killer investigations. Ironic, since his father had been a serial killer of 15 young women over a twelve year period. He was apprehended when Winter was 11 years old. At his execution, his father mouthed three words to him before he died, 'We're the same'. He knew then that he could not work within the constraints of the FBI.

Next move is to London where DI Mark Hatcher has four women, all tortured for months and then lobotomised into a vegetable state. Hatcher was getting nowhere. The latest abduction was Rachel Morris. Winter had a crystal ball approach to profiling, whether due to his training and experience or a gift. He would shut his eyes and accurately depict the circumstances of the abductions and the horrors they endured, even to the type of psychopath they were dealing with and the conditions they were kept in. Working with Hatcher and the beautiful DS Sophie Templeton, Winter applies his detective and profiler skills to investigate every clue or lead, even longshots, to trace the perpetrator of these horrific crimes.
The graphic descriptions of the gruesome torture the captors are subjected to are disturbing. Events take a few twists that drive Winter speedily to resolve the horrific events. Ingenious detective work, logic, intuition, aided by computer experts and Rachel's dodgy, wealthy father, lead to the possible location of the crimes.

James Carol has invented an attractive subject in Jefferson Winter. A dynamic detective and profiler with an intellect that can read into the most difficult criminal scenes, yet with an appreciation of luxury, whether a hotel suite, a malt whisky or a beautiful woman. Exceptionally well-written, researched and a page-turner. Winter is almost superhuman in his intuitive profiling but this fits into an intriguing novel that leaves the reader wanting more, as is promised. Excellent and entertaining read.
66 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I bought this to read on holiday - based on all the good reviews on here.

I was horribly disappointed. I can only conclude that it is #1 on this list (when I bought it) due to the low price.

Quick list of what I didn't like:

>Characters are all stereotypes.
>Plot feels like SAW script reject - and doesn't make any sense.
>There is no horror or suspense. (lots of 'torture porn' pretending to be horror)
>Main character is not particularly likeable - and his pseudo Sherlock Holmes like deductive abilities are so illogical in their construction that they're almost comical. He reads like a Robert Langdon meets Sherlock Holmes wannabe.
>Glamourises alcohol and smoking - totally unnecessary - is this book sponsored by Joe Camel and Glen Whiskey?

Summary:
Basically reads like a bad SAW film - if you enjoy SAW type torture porn, you might get a kick out of it.

If you like atmospheric horror or true suspense generated by a solid plot structure and characters then give this a skip.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Read this book in two days unable to put down. Gripping,intelligent,fast paced read..is Jefferson Winter the new Jack Reacher perhaps.?
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Too unbelievable, almost a science fiction plot - and how the "profiler" came to some of his (obvious) conclusions was totallly unreal! on this effort, I wouldnt recommend this author, or indeed read any more by him.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.