Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
26
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2017
This is a film about nothing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Luke (Jake Johnson) and Kate (Olivia Wilde) work at a micro-brew and spend their nights drinking at a bar. They are close friends. Luke has a girlfriend Jill (Anna Kendrick) who is a teacher and level headed. Kate has been dating Chris (Ron Livingston) for 8 months. He is also level headed. Our foursome go away for a weekend where Chris has the realization Kate is not right for him. He is more interested in Jill. Chris breaks up with Kate which leads to...pretty much nothing except the realization there is life outside of drinking.

This is a pretty much been there done that film for me and I was bored from the lack of comedy, action, or drama beyond a sarcastic remark. Not much in entertainment value.

F-bomb. Implied sex. Olivia Wilde brief nudity?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Watched it thinking it was going to be a lighthearted braindead film but I really enjoyed it.

The film is extremely tense and displays what a real relationship is like through a lot of awkward silence and intense loving moments. It also cuts at just the right time making it feel like the memory of being "intimate" with someone rather than the clear cut sex scenes that allow us to see like in Hollywood.
The general feel of the film is that of being drunk and hungover and I have yet to see another film that truly managed to portray that feeling.
Good rough cinematography, tense editing, no Hollywood overuse of music and the acting was top.
Most of the lines in Drinking Buddies are improvised which shows the true nature of Jake Johnson's comedy; wonderful man.

Top Film
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I do believe that as you get older, you see some movies in a completely different light every now and then. The likes of THIS IS 40 is relatable once you know people in their situation and DRINKING BUDDIES falls into that late twenties category, when you’re still figuring out what you should ‘really’ be doing…in every sense. Writer and Director Joe Swanberg (V/H/S, YOU’RE NEXT) has created an impressive personal project that explores different relationships with a strong ensemble cast.

DRINKING BUDDIES focuses around the relationship of Luke (Jake Johnson) and Kate (Olivia Wilde) who are co-workers at an awesome micro-brewery. At work they have a flirty relationship with days spent drinking or poking fun at each other and – in some ways – feel like they should be ‘together’ but they’re both with other people. The movie explores that blurry line between friendships and relationships and the ever-relevant question ‘Can members of the opposite sex be platonic best friends?’

Here, Joe Swanberg has created a fine slice of reality with astute observations on different kinds of relationships that will happen throughout your life. Olivia Wilde is exceptional as Kate, the only woman in the brewery who is trying to find herself but Wilde never over sells the character. Up against Olivia is New Girl’s Jake Johnson in a stand-out role, who has a set path and doesn’t let his character down. You could argue that by sitting on the fence he creates more bad things than good, but you always know what he stands for. What particularly sticks here, is the characters don’t betray who they are and admit their mistakes. Co-starring is the ever-exceptional Anna Kendrick who’s understated as Luke’s girlfriend Jill, her role is to start the questioning of the individual characters roles and a sturdy Ron Livingston as Chris, Kate’s partner.

In DRINKING BUDDIES, we get something modern and refreshing in this genre. Joe Swanberg has given us an equally strong and confused female lead which has echoes of Charlize Theron in YOUNG ADULT but with it created an incredibly likeable, relatable and intelligent comedy drama.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
I bought this film one night as I was bored and wanted something easy to watch. The cast sounded good and I had to be honest not set the bar high for the film. The plot happened as expected and I did watch until the end however I probably wouldn't recommend this film for anyone that isn't looking for a film to watch just to kill some time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is billed as a `rom-com', but I found it more of a grown up relationship drama. It stars Olivia Wilde (`Her' and `Rush') as twenty something Kate. She is an administrator at a craft brewery and if you work in a brewery you have to like a drink and by jingo she does. She is going out with Chris (Ron Livingston) who is quite level headed. Kate works with Luke played by Jake Johnson - and he like to have a laugh and also a drink. His girlfriend though teaches special needs children and yes you guessed it, is also a bit on the sensible side.

Well what looks like a mis-matched pair with an easy fix is what this film is screaming to be. However, director Joe Swanberg (`VHS' and `You're Next') really scores here by making it far from black and white and by so doing has made a very grown up film. Things do not always work out for people and the obvious is often missed and here there is enough of that real life lack of intuition to make it totally believable and it is all the better for it.

This is far from being a comedy and I think it will garner negative press by the expectancy that there will be laughs a plenty and the worn out but also much more palatable - wedding style ending. Please note that is not a plot spoiler, I am merely using it to reflect that this is not your typical `Hollywood' type film. So if you like your films to surprise, avoid clichés and make you think a bit then I would give this a try.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
I thought this was going to be a silly comedy but its actually intelligent and well made. The cast are great. This is grown up and a good watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Wasn't a bad film but wasn't very exciting, I felt like not much happened really but its okay for a boring sunday afternoon movie day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
I should have used the title as a clue to its content- as that's about all that happens in this 'watching paint dry' film.

If I want to indulge in reality I'll read Proust, as he managed to make the ordinary,extraordinary and poetic- something this film completetly lacks...
'Can I watch 90 minutes of actors drinking beer, talking,arguing, oh and moving flats?' A colossal train wreck - dreadful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
yet another great Anna Kendrick film to make up our collection, arrived well packaged and with in time scale, recommend to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)