Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
156
4.8 out of 5 stars
Ripper Street - Series 2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 August 2017
Loved the entire 5 series ... great writing, acting, costumes etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
brilliant series - had me gripped from the beginning - well worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Atmospheric thriller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
This was a gift to a family member who had missed some of the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Good Series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Love the crew, the plot, overall it is one of the best TV series I've encountered. Some reviews suggested it is to be scrapped, but that's a silly idea. It is not the series that are not good enough but a slack marketing is the culprit in my view. The first time I've come across the advert, it has not captured my interest, but when I decided to give it a try I couldn't wait for the next episode....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Unbelievable that the BBC has axed this great programme after two series! In my opinion it is the best thing they have made in years! They have done it before with other popular programmes, it seems as though they really don't care... but if you liked it, please... please sign the petition to bring it back. Just type in Ripper Street and it should take you there. If you prefer 'I'm a celebrity or Big Brother.... don't bother, but if you like something a bit more exciting... make an effort to bring it back! Thank you.
44 Comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Brilliantly written and acted. Why did this series get cancelled it's one of the best things on TV? Kudos to Amazon for producing series 3. It was worth getting Amazon Prime just for that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2017
I started to 'catch-up' watch my aged standard definition recordings of 'Ripper Street' a little after Series 2 had started, but so impressed was I with the programme as it all looked and sounded so good I decided to get the Blu-rays of Series 1-3 instead; series 4 and 5 have subsequently aired and been released....

This drama delves into an age (the late 1800s) rarely covered by the BBC so, whilst the episode storylines never really struck me as THAT intriguing, along with the quality production-values/presentation the delicious 'period' dialogue and, especially, the outstanding acting performances of the lead cast made it something really quite special.

HOWEVER, I can only review series 1 to 3 on Blu-ray as I didn't buy the later series as firstly, I was baffled how a continuation could properly exist as I thought that most of the significant aspects came to such a clear, satisfactory resolution in series 3. Secondly, I nonetheless then watched in HD the broadcasts of Series 4 (late last year) and found the screenplay to be a sorry, VERY pale shadow of what had already passed - so much so that I almost couldn't continue watching it. Series 5 re-gained some of the familiar/pleasing 'ground' from Series 1-3 but, for me, still fell woefully short.

My feelings about how this programme 'evolved' are supported by highlighting the production history, since the BBC (wrongly IMHO) cancelled the programme after series 2 due to viewing figures dropping from around 8million to 3 million BUT 'Amazon Prime Instant Video' took over, if for no other reason one would hope that a 3rd series at the very least was necessary to 'tie things up'.

However, series 3 seemingly provoked increased viewing figures so 'Amazon Prime Instant Video' then produced series 4, later deciding to expand/split it to make series 4 and 5; this tells a story and, having subsequently learned these facts, helps to explain even more my dissatisfaction with those last 2 series.....

It is so tricky to describe the over-arching theme of 'Ripper Street' since it would be revelationary and spoil things for first-timers, BUT with the caveat that it essentially misses the crucial elements (perhaps for the revealing issue I mentioned ?) the disc box for Series 1 (NOT the Amazon synopsis) has a good stab at doing it and is just as relevant as the one for this series, even if it does describe a little more about series-specific details, so here it is :

----
"Haunted by the failure to catch Londonʼs most evil killer, Jack the Ripper, Inspector Edmund Reid (Matthew Macfadyen) now heads up the notorious H Division – the toughest police district in the East End.

Charged with keeping order in the blood-stained streets of Whitechapel, Reid and his men find themselves fighting to uphold justice and the rule of law; but always in the background lurks the fear of the Ripper – is he back for another reign of terror.

The shadow of the Ripper is still felt in the neighbourhood by the vigilantes, the sensation-seeking newspaper hacks and the men who hunted – and failed to find – the notorious murderer. It seems that even though the notorious killer has disappeared, there are plenty more willing to stain the streets of Whitechapel with their victims’ blood..."
----

However, due to my earlier caveat I need to add immediately that one shouldn't be dissuaded by the 'Ripper' element of the programme title nor the way it prevails in the above description (and anyway, in this second series the 'Ripper' elements are virtually absent !).

That's because, as hinted at, for me the MUCH more crucial story element is the specifics and what surrounds the relationships (in every sense of the word) between the lead characters and their related personal issues,,,.

Those aspects are the driving force for the series and the underlying current within each episode - so much so that the often derivative, occasionally rather bland/often forgettable 'crimes' which might headline a particular episode are the 'garnish' to the main meal of the characterisations and their progress throughout the entirety of all the programmes series; I rarely felt challenged or captivated by any 'whodunnit' aspect of the plot....

- and that is exactly how it should be, since the delicious period-dialogue and (above all) those lead acting performances are supreme.

I must also add now that the production-values are similarly superior and that there is a notable musical soundtrack, emphasised by the fantastic and, for me, striking opening-credits images and infectious/addictive score; short it might be, but it instils great emotion in me whenever it plays and (usually) is the pre-cursor to a subsequent positive viewing experience. Having said that, again on the theme of cancellation and 'those' series 4 and 5, it is perhaps not surprising that they also differ from series 1-3 by virtue of the opening-credits score being different; pertinently AGAIN, I should point out that closing credits to the very last episode of series 5 play out with that 'original.opening-credits score (the score is usually unique to the episode), in homage to better times IMHO - a small point perhaps, but it is for me significant....

Violence and criminal fatalities are copious, largely dictating the need for a '15' viewing certificate for matters such as 'strong bloody violence, gore and sexualised nudity' - this programme is not for the squeamish, BUT bad language is absent !

Matthew Macfadyen in the lead role remains quite superb throughout - his dominance is almost matched by the revelation of Jerome Flynn (for me, not before seen), who similarly acts his socks off. Adam Rothenburg and MyAnna Buring are also excellent, but Macfadyen and Flynn particularly excel in the smaller aspects of their performances, with easily-missed significant nuances to their voices and expressions, but especially small physical acts (eg nervous twitches, blink and you'll miss them !) to portray the vivid, striking and fully-rounded characters they play.

The presence of Macfadyen and Flynn, and the quality of their contributions, is the single, MASSIVE foundation stone to 'Ripper Street' - and they are so essential since it is (unarguably) the relationship between their characters that similarly drives the core of 'Ripper Street'; they are something to behold....

This second series very quickly introduces a significant new character to us, in the shape of Detective Inspector Jedediah Shine - who commands the nearby 'K' division. His presence in this series becomes more prominent as time passes, but I never really saw why his character existed other than to present us with a 'hate' figure, who's actions are regularly extreme and lack some credibility; similarly, the actions of one of the main characters also stretched credibiity. The Jerome Flynn character also becomes more prominent, and the 'Ripper' aspects are almost non-existent. This series makes less effort to have themes associated with real historical events occurring in London at that time than in series 1.

Whilst those production-values might be very good, it cannot go unnoticed that much reliance is made of quality CGI to add background to the relatively small but excellent period sets; those plus the dialogue and costumes are the final ingredients added to the existing quality of the acting, screenplay and music to make 'Ripper Street' so successful for me.

Like with series 1, everything is wonderfully sharp and richly portrayed on Blu-ray; the sound is also very well presented, with a lot of use made of the spatial capabilities of the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 soundtrack to broadcast off-screen sounds for example.

So, whilst the individual episode plots might feature often rather uninteresting details the overriding and substantially more captivating feature of them, and the series overall is the main characters, how they interact and their relationships/personal issues. Those aspects are portrayed in exemplary fashion, in no small part because of the intricate period-dialogue but more so due to the quite excellent acting performances. Add very convincing production-values, notably the costumes and set-dressing, and an often rousing musical soundtrack - all presented marvellously on Blu-ray, and it's hopefully clear why I enjoyed this superior BBC drama so much.

This second series is slightly less satisfying than the first, for me largely due to the introduction of the non-sensical Detective Inspector Shine character plus the episode-specific plots have more 'association' with the main characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 October 2014
This is crime detection in the grubby hard Eastend of London about the time of the ripper murders (not that the ripper murders are really touched on in *this* series). Detection comes from a forward thinking moral detective, supported by a stead fast bad/tough cop and an America doctor/ scientist/ pathologist. All three have interesting back stories.

Much of whats good in the first series remains but it definitely slacks off a bit. The good bits are the setting, the music, the cast and the general feel of the series. It's also good to see them bring in famous events, people and innovation of the time; such as John Merrick and the underground.

Where I feel it dropped of a little is in the crimes and their resolution. Some were clearly not as well thought out and relied on late revelations from poor initial detection and some had really dumb actions which had me arguing with the TV. A criticism would also be that some of the interesting story arcs from the first series, especially relating to Macfadyen, are dropped completely. Its also a bit disappointed some of the interesting characters have a short shelf life.

I'm pleased they managed to get this odd deal together for a third series as the overall feel of the series is excellent and hopefully the plot can be a bit tighter next time.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)